NASCAR: Dr Pepper & 23XI Racing’s SPEED Institute Announce 2022 Tuition Award Recipients

Dr Pepper and 23XI Racing today announced the 23 recipients of the 2022 SPEED Institute Tuition Program. The annual program is designed to provide tuition support and opportunities for students seeking to work in motorsports in a variety of fields, including marketing, communications, human resources, finance, engineering and trade disciplines.

The Dr Pepper and 23XI SPEED Institute tuition program was established in 2021. Since 2008, Dr Pepper has awarded more than $13 million in tuition to deserving students.

“Dr Pepper is thrilled to once again provide tuition support to students in partnership with 23XI Racing’s SPEED Institute,” said Derek Dabrowski, Senior Vice President and General Manager, Juices, Teas, Mixers Keurig Dr Pepper. “This continues a long-standing tradition of Dr Pepper supporting students’ educational goals and Dr Pepper is proud of this inspiring group.”

“When the SPEED Institute was created, the goal was to open doors and create opportunities for students to pursue a career in motorsports,” said 23XI Racing President, Steve Lauletta. “Thanks to the support from Dr Pepper, the 23XI SPEED Institute has been able to provide students over $200,000 in tuition support in just two short years. The program began last year with a well-deserving group of students, and we are excited to again partner with Dr Pepper to provide tuition support for students through the SPEED Institute and 23XI Racing. Congratulations to all the 23 tuition winners and we look forward to hosting two of these talented students for internships at 23XI.”

2022 Dr Pepper $5,000 Tuition Recipients

Name School Major
Nicolas Banda The University of Texas Corporate Communications
Khristian Black High Point University Business Marketing
John Bonney SUNY, University at Albany Business Administration; Finance & Business Analytics
Noah Cornelius Appalachian State University Communication; Electronic Media/Broadcasting
Jose Flores Universal Technical Institute Diesel Technology
Angel Garcia University of Alabama Mechanical Engineering
Jadyn Godsey Morgan State University Civil Engineering
Kennedy Hutchins UNC Charlotte Mass Media Communications
Aruoriwo Igbogidi Morgan State University Electrical & Computer Engineering
Nicholas Kadela High Point University Sports Management
Deyonna Lansden Middle Tennessee State University Sports Management & Journalism
Cameryn Love North Carolina A&T State University Bioengineering
Skye Mayo Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Aerospace Engineering
Maxwell Neuwrith University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Communications & Environmental Studies
Kareena Nicholson Morgan State University Business & Entrepreneurship
Jocelyn Ramirez Loyola University of Chicago Entrepreneurship & Finance
Ursula Rice University of Alabama Huntsville Mechanical Engineering
Isaac Soria Cabrillo College Civil Engineering
Chi Tran University of Rochester Business Marketing
Paula Waldeck NASCAR Technical Institute Automotive
Christian Walker UNC Charlotte Marketing
Luke Welsh Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Computer Science
Johann Wigginton Berea College Technology & Applied Design


The two recipients of the 23XI Racing internship will be announced on a later date.