F2: Sargeant seals pole for Carlin at Silverstone

Logan Sargeant made it two from two on Friday at Silverstone, sealing pole position for the Feature Race after topping the earlier Free Practice session. The Carlin driver was top of the times for the majority of the session, setting a pace his rivals struggled to get close to.

Frederik Vesti outqualified his teammate and ended up P2 with Championship leader Felipe Drugovich securing third place ahead of Théo Pourchaire. Carlin’s strong pace was demonstrated with Liam Lawson rounding out the top five, just two-tenths behind Sargeant.

Qualifying got underway with the clouds shading most of the circuit and Enzo Fittipaldi leading the field. With temperatures relatively low, drivers were working hard to generate tire temperature before unleashing the pace and launching into a flying lap.

default image

Drugovich’s first attempt was over as quickly as it started, going deep at Village after locking up and subsequently running wide off track. Vesti was quickest after the initial times filtered in. A 1:39.611 was the time to beat by the Dane, three-tenths quicker than Jack Doohan in P2.

Sargeant picked up from where he left off in Practice to take the top spot with 18 minutes remaining. His 1:38.946 was four-tenths clear of anybody else as the first flurry of action ended.

Jehan Daruvala had remained on track during the lull in action and lifted himself up to P2 and within two-tenths of Sargeant’s fastest effort. With 12 minutes remaining, drivers filtered back out onto track as the sun breached the cloud cover above the circuit.

default image

Doohan was the first over the line, but Sargeant was the man to watch once more. The American smashed his earlier effort to move onto a 1:38.432 to maintain provisional pole. Vesti was back inside the top three to split the Carlin driver and Drugovich. Title rival Pourchaire set an identical time to the Brazilian but was fourth by virtue of the MP Motorsport driver setting his time first.

A yellow flag for the stranded Van Amersfoort Racing car of David Beckmann prevented drivers from setting two consecutive fast laps and with under five minutes remaining of the session, there wasn’t enough time left on the clock to relaunch an attack on pole.

Ayumu Iwasa ended the session sixth followed by Doohan, Jüri Vips, Fittipaldi and Daruvala, who will start Saturday’s Sprint Race from reverse grid pole for PREMA Racing.

Qualifying Results

Pos Driver Team Time Behind
1 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m38.432s 0.000s
2 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m38.539s 0.107s
3 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m38.553s 0.121s
4 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m38.553s 0.121s
5 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m38.625s 0.193s
6 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m38.734s 0.302s
7 Jack Doohan UNI-Virtuosi 1m38.901s 0.469s
8 Jüri Vips HitechGP 1m39.013s 0.581s
9 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m39.077s 0.645s
10 Jehan Daruvala Prema Powerteam 1m39.115s 0.683s
11 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m39.222s 0.790s
12 Marcus Armstrong HitechGP 1m39.266ss 0.834s
13 Dennis Hauger Prema Powerteam 1m39.429s 0.997s
14 Jake Hughes Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.448s 1.016s
15 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m39.492s 1.060s
16 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m39.580s 1.148s
17 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m39.597s 1.165s
18 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m39.660s 1.228s
19 Marino Sato UNI-Virtuosi 1m39.677s 1.245s
20 Cem Bolukbasi Charouz Racing System 1m39.691s 1.259s
21 Calan Williams Trident 1m39.912s 1.480s
22 David Beckmann Van Amersfoort Racing 1m40.291s 1.859s