Supercars: Waters tops wet qualifying for Bathurst 1000

Cam Waters has clinched Bathurst provisional pole in a thrilling wet qualifying session Friday afternoon at Mount Panorama

Waters, the 2020 pole-sitter, paced the session on a 2:23.616s.

Defending Repco Bathurst 1000 Champion Lee Holdsworth was a shock second, with fellow 2021 race winner Chaz Mostert third.

Cam Waters fast in qualifying for tomorrows top ten shoot out for the Repco Bathurst 1000, event 11 of the Repco Supercars Championship, Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia. 7 Oct 2022

Shane van Gisbergen was fourth, but clashed with Macauley Jones on his final timed lap which could have ramifications with the stewards later this evening.

Van Gisbergen was fastest through the first sector, but caught Jones across Skyline.

The series leader hit Jones, who went into the wall rearwards on approach to the Dipper.

Waters, who is 525 points behind van Gisbergen, was pleased to first survive, and then set the pace.

Waters is desperate to end his bridesmaid’s tag after finishing second in the Great Race in 2020 and 2021 and will be last out in Saturday’s ARMOR ALL Top Ten Shootout.

Cam Waters fast in qualifying for tomorrows top ten shoot out for the Repco Bathurst 1000, event 11 of the Repco Supercars Championship, Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia. 7 Oct 2022

“We’re stoked; we just wanted to make sure we’re in the 10,” Waters said.

“We weren’t too bad in the dry earlier in the day… with the rain, we weren’t sure.

“We did a good job tuning it up between practice and qualifying.

“The car in general was really nice to drive.”

Waters said conditions in qualifying were far better than those earlier in the day in practice, but dangers were still lurking, particularly on the exit of Hell Corner and the kink at The Chase.

“There were a lot less rivers down the straights, and over the top (there) was a lot more grip,” he said.

But the prospect of the shootout – with just one out lap to build tire temperature and pressure – was much more daunting.

“It was taking a few laps for the tires to come up, so tomorrow if it is wet it will be a little bit more challenging.

“But … I’ll be the last car which will be good. I’ll get to see what all the other guys do, how they’re going and what the track grip is.

“Hopefully it doesn’t rain more at the end – those kind of conditions are a little bit hard for shootout.

“But it is what it is. It’s awesome to make (the shootout) and be quickest in that session.”

Ambient and track conditions improved as the session wore on.

Red Bull’s decision to replace rookie Broc Feeney for qualifying with co-driver, Jamie Whincup didn’t go to plan.

Whincup was only good enough for 14th, despite regular driver Broc Feeney standing aside for the session.

Will Davison, who paced Practice 1 and 3, was sixth ahead of Nick Percat and James Courtney.

Erebus Motorsport’s frantic effort to repair Will Brown’s car paid dividends, with Brown qualifying 10th.

Brodie Kostecki made it three Erebus entries in the 10 with ninth, given Stanaway ended up fifth.

Stanaway, who is paired with the great Greg Murphy, is a wildcard entry into the race after waiting two years to return Supercars. He proved the wait was worth it, taming the wet conditions in an unbelievable display given how little track time he has had over recent years.

Anton De Pasquale was one of the shock omissions from tomorrow’s Top Ten Shootout and will start 11th ahead of Andre Heimgartner, with James Golding 13th ahead of Whincup.

Craig Lowndes, aboard the Triple Eight wildcard, was 16th behind Thomas Randle.

Tim Slade brought up the rear of the 28-car field.

Co-drivers will tackle Practice 5 at 10:20am local time on Saturday.

The fan-favorite Top Ten Shootout will commence at 5:05pm.


10. Will Brown – Boost Mobile Racing Commodore
9. Brodie Kostecki – Boost Mobile Racing Commodore
8. James Courtney – Snowy River Caravans Mustang
7. Nick Percat – Mobil 1 NTI Commodore
6. Will Davison – Shell V-Power Racing Mustang
5. Richie Stanaway – Boost Mobile Racing Wildcard Commodore
4. Shane van Gisbergen – Red Bull Ampol Racing Commodore
3. Chaz Mostert – Mobil 1 Optus Commodore
2. Lee Holdsworth – Penrite Racing Mustang
1. Cam Waters – Monster Energy Mustang

Supercars eyeing F1 undercard in slots

Supercars is eyeing slots on the Formula 1 undercard in the United States and Singapore in years to come, according to a report.

The touring car championship currently supports the Australian Grand Prix at Melbourne’s Albert Park and has been a fixture at the circuit since 1996.

However, with new owners at the helm of Supercars, a concerted effort is being made to expand that presence alongside Formula 1.

First Round Qualifying Results

1 6 C. Waters Moffat Tickford Racing 1 2:23.617 +0.000 15
2 10 Holdsworth M. Payne Penrite Racing 2:23.830 +0.213 15
3 25 Mostert Coulthard WAU Racing Pty Ltd 2:23.836 +0.219 14
4 97 Van Gisbergen Tander Red Bull Holden Racing Team 2:24.067 +0.450 13
5 51 R. Stanaway G. Murphy Boost Mobile Racing 51 2:24.353 +0.736 14
6 17 Davison A. Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team 2:24.422 +0.806 14
7 2 Percat W. Luff WAU Racing Pty Ltd 2:24.563 +0.947 15
8 5 Courtney Z. Goddard Tickford Racing 1 2:24.646 +1.029 15
9 99 B. Kostecki D. Russell Penrite Racing – Erebus 2:24.790 +1.173 15
10 9 W. Brown J. Perkins Penrite Racing – Erebus 2:25.000 +1.384 14
11 100 A. de Pasquale T. D’Alberto Shell V-Power Racing Team 2:25.008 +1.391 13
12 8 Heimgartner Wood Brad Jones Racing 2:25.013 +1.396 14
13 31 J. Golding D. O’Keeffe PremiAir Subway Racing 2:25.015 +1.398 14
14 88 B. Feeney Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Team 2:25.127 +1.511 14
15 55 T. Randle Z. Best Tickford Racing 2 2:25.152 +1.535 14
16 888 Lowndes D. Fraser Team Vortex 2:25.352 +1.736 14
17 56 J. Kostecki K. Kostecki Tickford Racing 2 2:25.465 +1.849 14
18 26 Reynolds M. Campbell Penrite Racing 2:25.472 +1.856 14
19 35 T. Hazelwood J. Ojeda Matt Stone Racing 2:26.074 +2.458 14
20 20 S. Pye T. Everingham Team 18 2:26.076 +2.460 14
21 22 C. Pither C. Hill PremiAir Coca Cola Racing 2:26.408 +2.791 13
22 96 M. Jones J. Boys SCT Motor Sports 2:26.658 +3.041 13
23 18 Winterbottom Caruso Team 18 2:27.016 +3.399 14
24 14 B. Fullwood D. Fiore Brad Jones Racing 2:27.137 +3.520 14
25 34 J. Le Brocq A. Seton Matt Stone Racing 2:27.524 +3.907 14
26 118 M. Chada J. Robotham Caltex Young Stars 2:28.244 +4.627 12
27 4 J. Smith J. Evans SCT Motor Sports 2:28.381 +4.765 14
28 3 Slade Blanchard CoolDrive Racing 2:31.319 +7.702 13