Supercars: Rookie Randle tops opening practice at Adelaide 500

Supercars rookie Thomas Randle has topped opening practice at the VALO Adelaide 500, in a session ended by a crash for Macauley Jones.

Red flags flew with one minute from the scheduled end of Practice 1 after Jones crashed at Turn 8.

Replays showed Jones hitting the wall at the fast sweeper, before pulling up at Turn 9.

Randle was one of a number of drivers to set his quickest lap in the final runs before Jones crashed.

Thomas Randle fastest in P1 for the VALO Adleadie 500, event 13 of the Repco Supercars Championship, Adelaide, South Australia, Australia. 1 Dec, 2022.

Brodie Kostecki was second for Erebus Motorsport, with Cam Waters sneaking into third.

Champion-elect Shane van Gisbergen was fourth, having missed a final run.

Champion elect Shane van Gisbergen in action during P1 of the VALO Adleadie 500, event 13 of the Repco Supercars Championship, Adelaide, South Australia, Australia. 1 Dec, 2022.

It was the first Supercars session in Adelaide in 1015 days — since February 2020 — and the first since major resurfacing works.

David Reynolds clocked a 1:20.686s in the first session in 2020 — Randle’s time on Thursday was a 1:19.803s.

Kostecki and Waters were within 0.07s of Randle’s session-topping time.

“The red flag came out at a good time, when I did my lap,” Randle said.

“I don’t know how many other people did a lap, I think Cam got a lap in.

“Just a credit to the whole team at Tickford Racing.

“The hardest thing for me was braking at the [Turn 9] hairpin.

“You start braking on the old surface, then halfway through it changes to the new surface.

“There’s a bump there, there’s quite a lot of grip.

“It’s not qualifying yet, it’s only practice, won’t put all my eggs in one basket yet.”

Practice 1 Results

Pos No. Team/Sponsor Driver Car Time Behind
1 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 1:19.8035  0.000
2 99 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.8089 0.0054
3 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:19.8771 0.0736
4 1 Red Bull Ampol Racing Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.9722 0.1687
5 8 R&J Batteries Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.1753 0.3718
6 20 Toyota Forklifts Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.2558 0.4523
7 14 Middy’s Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.4881 0.6846
8 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.5081 0.7046
9 10 Penrite Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:20.6062 0.8027
10 9 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.6338 0.8303
11 2 Mobil 1 NTI Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.6395 0.8360
12 25 Mobil 1 Optus Racing Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.6592 0.8557
13 3 CoolDrive Auto Parts Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 1:20.6775 0.8740
14 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 1:20.6939 0.8904
15 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 1:20.7528 0.9493
16 5 Snowy River Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1:20.7795 0.9760
17 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:20.7969 0.9934
18 34 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.8109 1.0074
19 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Broc Feeney Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.8132 1.0097
20 35 Truck Assist Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.0776 1.2741
21 31 Subway PremiAir Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.3708 1.5673
22 96 TRG Transport Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.5036 1.7001
23 56 Tradie Racing Jake Kostecki Ford Mustang GT 1:21.5388 1.7353
24 22 PremiAir Coca Cola Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.9029 2.0994
25 4 SCT Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.9419 2.1384