NASCAR: Hendrick Motorsports names interim Cup Series crew chiefs

–by Mark Cipolloni–

Hendrick Motorsports has turned to a group of staff engineers to guide its four NASCAR Cup teams in the coming weeks after it was hammered by NASCAR for showing up at Phoenix with unapproved hood louvers.

Among the penalties were the suspension for four races of all four teams’ crew chiefs.

HMS named the following replacements on Thursday: Brian Campe for the No. 24 of William Byron, Greg Ives for the No. 48 of Alex Bowman, Kevin Meendering for Kyle Larson and Tom Gray for Josh Berry/Chase Elliott in the No. 9.

HMS are appealing the penalties but they will lose.

Atlanta Entry List

Entry No. Driver Organization Crew Chief Veh Mfg Sponsor
1 1 Ross Chastain Trackhouse Racing Phil Surgen Chevrolet AdventHealth
2 2 Austin Cindric Team Penske Jeremy Bullins Ford Menards\Knauf
3 3 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Keith Rodden Chevrolet Andy’s Frozen Custard
4 4 Kevin Harvick Stewart Haas Racing Rodney Childers Ford Busch Light
5 5 Kyle Larson Hendrick Motorsports Kevin Meendering Chevrolet
6 6 Brad Keselowski RFK Racing Matt McCall Ford King’s Hawaiian
7 7 Corey LaJoie Spire Motorsports Ryan Sparks Chevrolet Celsius
8 8 Kyle Busch Richard Childress Racing Randall Burnett Chevrolet Lenovo
9 9 Josh Berry (i) Hendrick Motorsports Tom Gray Chevrolet NAPA Auto Parts
10 10 Aric Almirola Stewart Haas Racing Drew Blickensderfer Ford Smithfield
11 11 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Chris Gabehart Toyota Shingrix
12 12 Ryan Blaney Team Penske Jonathan Hassler Ford BodyArmor Sport Water
13 14 Chase Briscoe Stewart Haas Racing John Klausmeier Ford
14 15 JJ Yeley Rick Ware Racing Billy Plourde Ford Barnett Southern Corporation
15 16 AJ Allmendinger Kaulig Racing Matt Swiderski Chevrolet Action Industries
16 17 Chris Buescher RFK Racing Scott Graves Ford Violet Defense
17 19 Martin Truex, Jr Joe Gibbs Racing James Small Toyota Bass Pro Shops
18 20 Christopher Bell Joe Gibbs Racing Adam Stevens Toyota DeWalt
19 21 Harrison Burton Wood Brothers Racing Brian Wilson Ford Motorcraft / Quick Lane
20 22 Joey Logano Team Penske Paul Wolfe Ford Autotrader
21 23 Bubba Wallace 23XI Racing Bootie Barker Toyota DoorDash
22 24 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Brian Campe Chevrolet Liberty University
23 31 Justin Haley Kaulig Racing Trent Owens Chevrolet LeafFilter Gutter Protection
24 34 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports Travis Peterson Ford
25 38 Todd Gilliland Front Row Motorsports Ryan Bergenty Ford Gary Martin Hays
26 41 Ryan Preece Stewart Haas Racing Chad Johnston Ford Autodesk/
27 42 Noah Gragson LEGACY MOTOR CLUB Luke Lambert Chevrolet Sunseeker Resort
28 43 Erik Jones LEGACY MOTOR CLUB David Elenz Chevrolet Allegiant
29 45 Tyler Reddick 23XI Racing Billy Scott Toyota Xfinity 10G Network
30 47 Ricky Stenhouse JTG Daugherty Racing Michael Kelley Chevrolet Kroger/Nature Valley
31 48 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Greg Ives Chevrolet Ally
32 51 Cody Ware Rick Ware Racing Jerry Kelley Ford Biohaven/Jacob Co.
33 54 Ty Gibbs Joe Gibbs Racing Chris Gayle Toyota Monster Energy
34 77 Ty Dillon Spire Motorsports Kevin Bellicourt Chevrolet Ferris Commercial Mowers
35 78 BJ McLeod Live Fast Motorsports David Ingram Chevrolet B’laster
36 99 Daniel Suárez Trackhouse Racing Travis Mack Chevrolet Tootsies Orchid Lounge

* equals withdrawn from the event
(i) equals ineligible for driver championship points