Formula E: Vandoorne wins pole in Sao Paulo

–by Mark Cipolloni–

The Porsche-powered cars never qualify well, but in the race they come to the front.  And qualifying was no different for the Sao Paulo e-Prix Saturday.

Stoffel Vandoorne turned the fast lap in shootout qualifying at 1m11.904s to win pole position in his DS Penske machine.

Felix da Costa will start 2nd in the #13 factory Porsche, 0.063s behind while Mitch Evans rounded out the top-3.

Once again the Andretti Autosport Porsche team painted themselves in a hole for the race with Jake Dennis qualifying only 14th quick in his #27 machine and Andre Lotterer next to last in his #36 Andretti entry.

Pascal Wehrlein in the other factory Porsche entry will start way back in 18th.

The long straights on the streets of Sao Paulo will tax the batteries and regen will be critical.

Qualifying Results

Pos No. Driver Team Time Behind
1 1 Stoffel Vandoorne Dragon Racing 1m11.904s 0.000s
2 13 Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche Team 1m11.967s 0.063s
3 9 Mitch Evans Jaguar Racing 1m12.022s 0.118s
4 48 Edoardo Mortara Maserati Racing 1m12.109s 0.205s
5 10 Sam Bird Jaguar Racing 1m12.037s 0.133s
6 37 Nick Cassidy Virgin Racing 1m12.150s 0.246s
7 5 Jake Hughes McLaren 1m12.657s 0.753s
8 25 Jean-Eric Vergne Dragon Racing 1m13.157s 1.253s
9 17 Norman Nato Nissan e.Dams 1m12.971s 1.067s
10 7 Maximilian Gunther Maserati Racing 1m12.189s 0.285s
11 58 René Rast McLaren 1m13.161s 1.257s
12 16 Sébastien Buemi Virgin Racing 1m12.971s 1.067s
13 51 Nico Müller Team Abt 1m13.200s 1.296s
14 27 Jake Dennis Andretti Autosport 1m12.991s 1.087s
15 23 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan e.Dams 1m13.040s 1.136s
16 3 Sergio Sette Camara NIO Formula E Team 1m13.307s 1.403s
17 33 Dan Ticktum NIO Formula E Team 1m13.045s 1.141s
18 94 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche Team 1m13.280s 1.376s
19 8 Oliver Rowland Mahindra Racing 1m13.330s 1.426s
20 4 Robin Frijns Team Abt 1m13.671s 1.767s
21 36 Andre Lotterer Andretti Autosport 1m13.382s 1.478s
22 11 Lucas di Grassi Mahindra Racing 1m24.491s 12.587s


Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :