Van Gisbergen new championship leader after clean sweep in USA

Shane van Gisbergen cleans up in USA
Shane van Gisbergen cleans up in USA

Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen is the new leader of the BP Supercars All Stars Eseries after a clean sweep of tonight's three races on virtual NASCAR circuits in the USA.

The 2016 Supercars Champion steered his Red Bull Holden Commodore to victory in all three races last evening, the first held at Charlotte's oval circuit and the final two at the famous Daytona Speedway.

Charlotte pace lap
Charlotte pace lap

The results from tonight mean van Gisbergen is the new points leader, opening up a 64 point leader over former leader, Shell Ford's Scott McLaughlin.

There were plenty of thrills and spills in all three races of the night, the opening race at Charlotte featured crashes galore in Supercars first ever race on a NASCAR Oval circuit.

Even McLaren F1 star Lando Norris struggled, following his win last week Norris could only manage a 14th, 18th and last place finish this evening from his home in the UK.


1. Shane van Gisbergen 1. Shane van Gisbergen 1. Shane van Gisbergen
2. Cam Waters 2. Anton De Pasquale 2. Chaz Mostert
3. Fabian Coulthard 3. Chaz Mostert 3. Garry Jacobson

Next week Supercars will race at Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari (Italy) and Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, home of the Brazilian F1 Grand Prix.

One of the wildcards joining the grid will be a lucky fan, who will win their way into the race against Supercars' best via the BP Ultimate Wildcard competition.


Driver Team Points Behind
Shane van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team 1663 Leader
Scott McLaughlin Shell V-Power Racing Team 1599 -64
Cameron Waters Monster Energy Racing 1464 -199
Anton De Pasquale Penrite Racing 1389 -274
Chaz Mostert Mobil 1 Appliances Online Racing 1315 -348
Andre Heimgartner NED Racing 1163 -500
Garry Jacobson Matt Stone Racing 1158 -505
Will Davison Milwaukee Racing 1072 -591
Fabian Coulthard Shell V-Power Racing Team 1056 -607
Lee Holdsworth Truck Assist Racing 1019 -644
Bryce Fullwood Mobil 1 Middy's Racing 982 -681
Jack Le Brocq Supercheap Auto Racing 982 -681
Nick Percat Brad Jones Racing 961 -702
Jake Kostecki Matt Stone Racing 868 -795
Zane Goddard Matt Stone Racing 830 -833
Todd Hazelwood Brad Jones Racing 800 -863
Scott Pye Team 18 794 -869
Mark Winterbottom Irwin Racing 767 -896
Jamie Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Team 686 -977
Macauley Jones Team CoolDrive 683 -980
Alex Davison Team Sydney 653 -1010
David Reynolds Penrite Racing 682 -981
Rick Kelly Castrol Racing 581 -1082
Chris Pither Team Sydney 478 -1185
Will Power Shell V-Power Racing Team 366 -1297
Jack Smith SCT Logistics 438 -1225
Lando Norris Mobil 1 Arrow Racing 417 -1246