Wehrlein wins 2nd straight Formula E eRace

Race Start
Race Start

The halfway point of the eight weekend ABB Formula E Race At Home Challenge saw Mahindra Racing’s Pascal Wehrlein and Jerome D’Ambrosio head to the virtual Hong Kong E-Prix circuit for Round 4 of the sim series.

After qualifying in P2, Pascal Wehrlein was caught up in a first lap incident which saw him drop down to fourth place. Undeterred, Mahindra’s #94 driver moved up through the field, overtaking James Calado on lap four and then taking advantage of Edoardo Mortara’s mistake on the following lap to take the lead. He then opened up a commanding gap and cruised to a consecutive win, and to the top of the leaderboard.

Traffic Jam
Traffic Jam

Jerome qualified in 8th position and ran in a points-scoring position for a good portion of the race but was eliminated at the end of lap 10 due to the ‘Race Royale’ format, finishing 17th.

Earlier, Mahindra Racing’s Challenge Grid driver, Lucas Muller took a sensational victory in the closing stages of the race, moving him up to P2 in the Series; “I’m a bit speechless to be honest. I really wasn’t expecting to be fighting for a win but I think Joshua made a mistake in the chicane and then after that I was closing in and started to think that this could actually happen!"

PASCAL WEHRLEIN, #94: “Today was a bit special with the qualifying and the wet conditions, so it was unexpected for everyone. The race was chaotic at the beginning and my car ended up being slightly damaged – the steering was to the left – but I was able to be fast in these conditions and brought it home."

DILBAGH GILL, CEO AND TEAM PRINCIPAL: “It’s been another fantastic day for Mahindra Racing! It was a chaotic start to the race, but Pascal’s pace was lightning and he took a commanding win – his second of the series which puts him top of the leaderboard with four more races to go. And with our sim racer Lucas Muller securing victory in the earlier Challenge Grid and moving up to second in the series, we couldn't have asked for more!


Pos Driver Behinds Pts
1 Pascal Wehrlein 15:13.727s (26)
2 Stoffel Vandoorne +4.033s (18)
3 James Calado +11.828s (15)
4 Nyck de Vries +14.756s (12)
5 Edoardo Mortara +17.801s (11)
6 Antonio Felix da Costa +18.409s (8)
7 Robin Frijns +19.113s (6)
8 Oliver Turvey +24.696s (4)
9 Sebastien Buemi +25.288s (2)
10 Oliver Rowland +25.458s (1)
11 Ma Qing Hua +27.277s 0
12 Mitch Evans +29.875s 0
13 Daniel Abt +33.877s 0
14 Nico Mueller 12 Laps 0
15 Andre Lotterer 11 Laps 0
16 Neel Jani 10 Laps 0
17 Jerome D’Ambrosio 9 Laps 0
18 Felipe Massa 8 Laps 0
19 Maximilian Guenther 7 Laps 0
20 Sam Bird 4 Laps 0
21 Lucas di Grassi 4 Laps 0
22 Alexander Sims 4 Laps 0
23 Brendon Hartley 2 Laps 0
24 Jean-Eric Vergne 0 Laps 0

Championship standings

Driver Team Points
Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Racing 71
Maximilian Guenther BMW i Andretti Motorsport 65
Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes-Benz EQ 58
Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing 46
Neel Jani TAG Heuer Porsche 24
Nick Cassidy Envision Virgin Racing 19
Nico Mueller GEOX DRAGON 19
James Calado Panasonic Jaguar Racing 19
Oliver Turvey NIO 333 18
Nyck de Vries Mercedes-Benz EQ 18
Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams 17
Edoardo Mortara ROKiT Venturi Racing 13
Antonio Felix da Costa DS TECHEETAH 8
Andre Lotterer TAG Heuer Porsche 6
Felipe Massa ROKiT Venturi Racing 4
Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams 3
Jerome D’Ambrosio Mahindra Racing 2
Ma Qing Hua NIO 333 1
Alexander Sims BMW i Andretti Motorsport 1
Jean-Eric Vergne DS TECHEETAH 0
Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 0
Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 0
Brendon Hartley GEOX DRAGON 0
Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing 0
Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing 0

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com