Harvick surges to Busch Pole Award at ISM Raceway

Harvick wins pole
Harvick wins pole

Kevin Harvick rolled to the Busch Pole Award in Monster Energy Series qualifying Friday at ISM Raceway in Phoenix.

Harvick, a nine-time Phoenix winner, landed a best lap of 139.340 mph around the 1-mile track, putting the Stewart-Haas Racing No. 4 Ford in the first starting spot for Sunday’s Can-Am 500 (2:30 p.m. ET, NBC/NBC Sports App, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio). The pole position is the fourth for Harvick this season, his second at Phoenix and 25th of his Monster Energy Series career.

Harvick is competing this weekend with interim crew chief Tony Gibson calling the shots in place of Rodney Childers, who is serving a two-race suspension for a technical infraction after last weekend’s win at Texas Motor Speedway.

“It’s pretty awesome to see a group of people come together — old man Tony Gibson and Nick (DeFazio, interim car chief) — coming out to fill the gaps for the suspensions," Harvick told NBCSN. “Like I told the radio a second ago, everybody on our Busch Light Ford has been there before and we know what we need to do. This is a great race track for us. I really wasn’t expecting that. Our cars are usually a lot better in race trim than in qualifying trim, and just got fortunate to hit a good lap right there and it came at a good time."

[adinserter name="GOOGLE AD"]Chase Elliott will share the front row after registering the second-fastest lap (139.152 mph) in the Hendrick Motorsports No. 9 Chevrolet. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ryan Blaney and Alex Bowman rounded out the top five in qualifying for the penultimate event in the 10-race playoffs, with title-eligible Kyle Busch snagging sixth.

The 312-lap event is the final race in the Round of 8. After Sunday’s race, the championship-eligible field will be trimmed from eight to the four drivers who will race for a title Nov. 18 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Joey Logano, the only driver assured of a title shot after his Martinsville win clinched an automatic berth, qualified ninth in the 39-car field.

Defending series champ Martin Truex Jr. was a late arrival to the qualifying grid after his Furniture Row Racing No. 78 Toyota failed inspection three times. The issues resulted in the ejection of Blake Harris, the team’s car chief, and a loss of 30 minutes in Saturday’s final practice.

Truex was bumped out of the final round of the session by a last-minute lap from Brad Keselowski. Truex will start 13th.

“It was a battle," said Truex, who was 20th-fastest in Friday’s practice. “Kind of par for the course for us here lately, so I say 13th is a pretty good starting spot for the day we’ve had. I really didn’t get a good crack at anything in practice and we didn’t end up having much time and we were pretty far off. Made some good gains for sure. I wish we could’ve ran again. I definitely feel like I could pick up some more. Car was just pretty tight, so we’ll start 13th and get to work tomorrow."


Pos Car Driver Team Time Speed
1 4 Kevin Harvick (P) Busch Light Ford 25.836 139.340
2 9 Chase Elliott (P) NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet 25.871 139.152
3 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Ford Ford 25.898 139.007
4 12 Ryan Blaney PPG Ford 25.924 138.867
5 88 Alex Bowman Axalta Chevrolet 25.948 138.739
6 18 Kyle Busch (P) M&M's Toyota 25.954 138.707
7 20 Erik Jones Sirius XM Toyota 26.022 138.344
8 42 Kyle Larson DC Solar Chevrolet 26.038 138.259
9 22 Joey Logano (P) Shell Pennzoil Ford 26.039 138.254
10 11 Denny Hamlin FedEx Ground Toyota 26.040 138.249
11 21 Paul Menard Menards/Cardell Ford 26.108 137.889
12 2 Brad Keselowski Miller Lite Holiday Knitwear Ford 26.150 137.667
13 78 Martin Truex Jr. (P) Auto-Owners Insurance Toyota 26.023 138.339
14 41 Kurt Busch (P) Haas Automation/Monster Energy Ford 26.053 138.180
15 3 Austin Dillon American Ethanol e15 Chevrolet 26.074 138.069
16 14 Clint Bowyer (P) ITsavvy Ford 26.110 137.878
17 6 Matt Kenseth Wyndham Rewards Ford 26.131 137.767
18 10 Aric Almirola (P) Smithfield Ford 26.140 137.720
19 24 William Byron # Hertz Chevrolet 26.162 137.604
20 48 Jimmie Johnson Lowe's Power of Pride Chevrolet 26.174 137.541
21 1 Jamie McMurray Cessna Chevrolet 26.176 137.531
22 31 Ryan Newman Cat Global Mining Chevrolet 26.212 137.342
23 34 Michael McDowell Love's/Luber Finer Ford 26.313 136.815
24 47 AJ Allmendinger Kroger ClickList Chevrolet 26.368 136.529
25 37 Chris Buescher Gain Chevrolet 26.342 136.664
26 19 Daniel Suarez STANLEY Toyota 26.368 136.529
27 32 Matt DiBenedetto Can-Am/Wholey Ford 26.487 135.916
28 13 Ty Dillon GEICO Military Chevrolet 26.516 135.767
29 95 Regan Smith Procore Chevrolet 26.539 135.649
30 43 Bubba Wallace # U.S. Air Force Chevrolet 26.560 135.542
31 38 David Ragan Trident Seafoods Wild Alaska Pollock Ford 26.614 135.267
32 00 Landon Cassill(i) StarCom Fiber Chevrolet 26.834 134.158
33 15 Ross Chastain(i) Ternio Chevrolet 26.970 133.482
34 72 Cole Whitt Standard Plumbing Supply Chevrolet 27.001 133.328
35 23 JJ Yeley(i) She Beverage Company Toyota 27.010 133.284
36 97 Tanner Berryhill Toyota 27.231 132.202
37 66 Timmy Hill(i) Rewards.com Toyota 27.457 131.114
38 7 DJ Kennington(i) APC/Northern Provincial Pipelines Chevrolet 27.666 130.124
39 51 Cody Ware JacobCo/BanyanCayGolfClub&Resort Chev 0.000 0.000