First race victory of the year goes to Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup
Jamie Whincup

In a week Holden fans will never forget, Jamie Whincup has recorded an emotional victory at the Superloop Adelaide 500.

Whincup led from start to finish in his Red Bull Holden Commodore, on the same day he announced he is sticking with the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship until at least the end of 2021.

It was the 37-year old's 11th victory in Adelaide and first since 2016. It was also his 119th career win.

It also showed the seven-time Supercars Champion has picked up where he left off, after winning four of the last six races to end 2019.

Huge crowd in Adelaide, why isn't IndyCar racing there?
Huge crowd in Adelaide, why isn't IndyCar racing there?

Behind Whincup today was defending Supercars Champion Scott McLaughlin and Whincup's Red Bull Holden teammate, Shane van Gisbergen who rounded out the first podium of the year.

Earlier today, Whincup claimed his 84th career pole position and first in Adelaide since 2015 and took the early lead into the notorious turn one.

After holding off the Penrite Commodore of David Reynolds from the start line, Whincup made a break on the field and was never really tested from there.

Whincup takes the checkered flag
Whincup takes the checkered flag

Behind the top three today was Reynolds, Will Davison and Cam Waters. Chaz Mostert in his first race in Holden was 7th ahead of former teammate Mark Winterbottom. Rick Kelly was ninth in his first ever race in a Mustang and McLaughlin's teammate Fabian Coulthard rounded out the top ten.

A number of drivers struggled through the concrete canyon of the Adelaide street circuit and had to call it a day early.

Former Supercars' Champ James Courtney's first outing for Team Sydney ended early after hitting the wall while Garry Jacobson suffered a similar fate.

Three rookies; Jack Smith, Zane Goddard and Bryce Fullwood all stayed out of major trouble to complete their first-ever race as Championship drivers.

Race 1 Result:

  1. Jamie Whincup (Red Bull Holden)
  2. Scott McLaughlin (Shell Ford)
  3. Shane van Gisbergen (Red Bull Holden)
  4. David Reynolds (Penrite Holden)
  5. Will Davison (Milwaukee Ford)
  6. Cam Waters (Monster Energy Ford)
  7. Chaz Mostert (Appliances Online Holden)
  8. Mark Winterbottom (Irwin Holden)
  9. Rick Kelly (Castrol Ford)
  10. Fabian Coulthard (Shell Ford)
  11. Andre Heimgartner (Ned Ford)
  12. Lee Holdsworth (Truck Assist Ford)
  13. Todd Hazelwood (Plus Fitness Holden)
  14. Anton De Pasquale (Penrite Holden)
  15. Scott Pye (DeWalt Holden)
  16. Jack Le Brocq (Supercheap Auto Ford)
  17. Macauley Jones (Cool Drive Holden)
  18. Zane Goddard (Unit Holden)
  19. Chris Pither (Coca Cola Holden)
  20. Jack Smith (SCT Holden)
  21. Bryce Fullwood (Middy's Holden)
  22. Nick Percat (X Convenience Holden)
  • DNF – James Courtney (Boost Holden)
  • DNF – Garry Jacobson (Yellow Cover Holden)