Dakar Stage 8 cancelled for Bikes to honor dead rider

Paulo Goncalves
Paulo Goncalves

After the accident yesterday which claimed the life of motorcycle rider Paulo Goncalves, today’s stage, the eighth of the Dakar Rally 2020, has been cancelled in the motorcycle category out of respect for the mourning of family and friends in the bivouac.

An on-track accident at kilometer 276 in the seventh stage of the Dakar Rally 2020 took the life of Portuguese rider Paulo Goncalves (5/2/1979).

Paulo Goncalves was a rider with Honda HRC, Monster Energy Honda Team from mid-2013 until mid-2019. During those six season the spirited Portuguese rider won over the hearts of, not only the entire team, but also all the companions in the bivouac.

Paulo won three Dakar Rally stages with Honda and claimed the runner-up spot in the 2015 edition. Previously after various victories in the 2013 world championship, Paulo clinched the title of FIM Cross-Country Rallies world champion in an epic triumph in Morocco. In 2014 he took the runner-up prize was third in the world championship in 2015 and 2017.

Yoshishige Nomura, HRC President

I am shocked, and deeply saddened at the news of Paulo Goncalves passing away. Paulo joined the during 2013 season, the year that Honda returned to the Dakar, and played an invaluable role in enhancing the racing bike's competitiveness. His friendly, jolly personality made him a driving force for the team, and charmed motorsports fans worldwide. HRC appreciates Paulo's tremendous achievements and his immeasurable contribution as a Honda rider, and expresses its deepest condolences to his family and friends.

Rider Standings

Provisional Top-10 Standings after Stage 7

Pos. Rider Num Nat Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Brabec Ricky 9 USA Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 28:25m01s
2 Quintanilla Pablo 5 CHI Husqvarna Factory Rally Team Husqvarna +24m48s
3 Cornejo Jose Ignacio 17 CHI Monster Energy Honda Team Honda +27m01s
4 Price Toby 1 AUS KTM Factory Racing Team KTM +28m44s
5 Barreda Joan 12 SPA Monster Energy Honda Team Honda +29m39s
6 Walkner Matthias 2 AUT KTM Factory Racing Team KTM +33m04s
7 Benavides Luciano 16 ARG KTM Factory Racing Team KTM +38m58s
8 Howes Skyler 59 USA Klymciw Racing KTM +01h15m02s
9 Caimi Franco 22 ARG Yamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team Yamaha +01h15m31s
10 Svitko Stefan 19 SLO Slovnaft Team KTM +01h19m41s

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com