FOX Sports, NHRA Announce 2020 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Television Schedule

Kalitta at Ponoma
Kalitta at Ponoma

FOX Sports and the National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) today announce the release of the 2020 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series television schedule, highlighted by live FOX broadcast network coverage of four consecutive summer events, including the “Western Swing" (Denver, Sonoma and Seattle), as well as the iconic U.S. Nationals from Indianapolis on Labor Day Weekend.

The 24-event 2020 FOX NHRA season opens Sunday, Feb. 9, with the 60th Lucas Oil NHRA Winternationals live from Pomona, Calif., at 5:00 PM ET on FS1. Fifteen of the season’s final 16 events are scheduled to air live, including the season finale Auto Club NHRA Finals from Pomona.

The 2020 season also marks the 50th anniversary of the NHRA Pro Stock Division.

“The 2020 season really gives us a magical opportunity to revel in the history of NHRA Pro Stock drag racing," said FOX NHRA play-by-play announcer Brian Lohnes. “This class, that kind of burst its way out of the Sportsman ranks, has captivated fans with razor-thin margins of victory since the 1970 NHRA Winternationals. We're going to have a load of fun celebrating the history of Pro Stock in 2020 and honoring the legends who built the class from the ground up."

Lohnes and two-time NHRA Funny Car champion Tony Pedregon return to the booth for the FOX NHRA broadcast team, with reporting from two-time NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series national champion Bruno Massel, Amanda Busick, Jamie Howe, Lewis Bloom and John Kernan.

FOX Sports and the NHRA also are scheduling 16 NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series broadcasts, and 12 E3 Spark Plugs Pro Mod Drag Racing Series broadcasts across FOX Sports networks.

NHRA races will appear in Canada and the Caribbean through FOX Sports Racing, as well as through the FOX Sports app.

2020 FOX NHRA TV Schedule (times subject to change):

Event Broadcast Date/Time Network
Lucas Oil NHRA Winternationals, Pomona, Calif. Feb. 9, 5:00 PM ET FS1
Magic Dry Organic Absorbent NHRA Arizona Nationals, Phoenix Feb. 23, 9:00 PM ET FS1
AMALIE Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals, Gainesville, Fla. March 15, 9:30 PM ET FS1
DENSO Spark Plugs NHRA Four-Wide Nationals, Las Vegas April 5, 9:00 PM ET FS1
Mopar Express Lane NHRA SpringNationals, Houston April 19, 8:30 PM ET FS1
NGK Spark Plugs NHRA Four-Wide Nationals, Charlotte, N.C. April 26, 6:00 PM ET FS1
NHRA Southern Nationals, Atlanta May 17, 2:00 PM ET FS1
Virginia NHRA Nationals, Richmond, Va. May 31, 5:30 PM ET FS1
Menards NHRA Heartland Nationals, Topeka, Kan. June 14, 6:30 PM ET FS1
NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals, Bristol, Tenn. June 21, 2:00 PM ET FS1
Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals, Norwalk, Ohio June 28, 2:00 PM ET FS1
Route 66 NHRA Nationals, Chicago July 12, 3:00 PM ET FOX
Dodge Mile-High NHRA Nationals, Denver July 19, 4:00 PM ET FOX
NHRA Sonoma Nationals, Sonoma, Calif. July 26, 4:00 PM ET FOX
Magic Dry NHRA Northwest Nationals, Seattle Aug. 2, 4:00 PM ET FOX
Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals, Brainerd, Minn. Aug. 16, 2:00 PM ET FS1
NHRA New England Nationals, Epping, N.H. Aug. 23, 2:00 PM ET FS1
NHRA U.S. Nationals, Indianapolis Sept. 7, 11:00 AM ET FS1
NHRA U.S. Nationals, Indianapolis Sept. 7, 1:00 PM ET FOX
NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship
Mopar Express Lane NHRA Nationals, Reading, Pa. Sept. 20, 1:00 PM ET FS1
NHRA Carolina Nationals, Charlotte, N.C. Sept. 27, 2:00 PM ET FS1
AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals, St. Louis Oct. 4, 7:00 PM ET FS1
AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals, Dallas Oct. 18, 2:00 PM ET FS2
Dodge NHRA Nationals, Las Vegas Nov. 1, 4:00 PM ET FS1
Auto Club NHRA Finals, Pomona, Calif. Nov. 15, 4:00 PM ET FS1

Leave a Reply