Sette Camara clinches pole at Yas Marina

Sergio Sette Camara
Sergio Sette Camara

Sergio Sette Camara continued his hot form from Free Practice to score his second pole position of the 2019 season, in Qualifying at Yas Marina, Abu Dhabi. The Brazilian puts his DAMS’ side in a strong position to secure the Teams’ Championship in tomorrow’s Feature Race, but will face stern competition from Callum Ilott in P2 and Louis Deletraz in third.

Jordan King was the first out on track, setting the initial time at 2m 11s, while Nyck de Vries and Jack Aitken were amongst five drivers to remain in the pitlane when the lights went green. Deletraz set the first fast time of the evening, racing around in 1:50.128, but was swiftly displayed by Ilott, who beat him by less than a hundredth of a second.

De Vries, Nicholas Latifi and Aitken all headed out as the rest of the field began to feed back into the pits for fresh rubber. The Canadian quickly went to work and leapt up to fourth, with three green sectors.

De Vries managed fifth on his first flying lap and improved to fourth the next time around, which would have been higher had he not locked up in the final sector.

Sette Camara took control of the session from here, storming around to steal provisional pole from Ilott. The Briton, along with Deletraz, attempted to react, but the duo could only manage second and third. Behind them, Guanyu Zhou rose from 10th to fifth with a powerful tour of the circuit.

There was frustration for Sean Gelael, as he clipped the curb and spun into the middle of the straight, bringing out a yellow flag. This brought a halt to the session and ended a number of push laps.

This saw Sette Camara hold on to first ahead of Ilott, Deletraz, Nobuharu Matsushita and Zhou. They were followed by De Vries, Latifi, Aitken, Nikita Mazepin and Mick Schumacher, who completed the top 10.

The DAMS ace will be fighting for his second win of the campaign in the Feature Race tomorrow, when lights go out at 6.45pm (local time).

Qualifying provisional classification

1 Sergio Sette Camara DAMS 1:49.751 10
2 Callum Ilott Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:49.840 10
3 Louis Deletraz Carlin 1:49.931 9
4 Nobuharu Matsushita Carlin 1:50.157 10
5 Guanyu Zhou UNI-Virtuosi Racing 1:50.190 9
6 Nyck De Vries ART Grand Prix 1:50.288 8
7 Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:50.303 9
8 Jack Aitken Campos Racing 1:50.520 8
9 Nikita Mazepin ART Grand Prix 1:50.618 5
10 Mick Schumacher PREMA Racing 1:50.652 7
11 Luca Ghiotto UNI-Virtuosi Racing 1:50.858 10
12 Giuliano Alesi Trident 1:50.920 10
13 Jordan King MP Motorsport 1:51.174 10
14 Artem Markelov BWT Arden 1:51.412 10
15 Matevos Isaakyan Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:51.522 10
16 Marino Sato Campos Racing 1:51.829 10
17 Sean Gelael PREMA Racing 1:51.884 8
18 Christian Lundgaard Trident 1:52.140 10
19 Tatiana Calderon BWT Arden 1:52.412 10
20 Mahaveer Raghunathan MP Motorsport 1:53.363 6

Leave a Reply