2019 winner Juri Vips

Vips wins qualifying race – will start on Macau pole

Juri Vips
Juri Vips

Juri Vips took a controlled win in the Qualification Race which decides the grid for the start of Sunday’s Suncity Group Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix – FIA F3 World Cup, as a first-lap pile-up took a number of contenders out of the running.

It was a near-perfect race for Vips, the Estonian avoiding the slipstream into Lisboa Bend on the first lap before controlling the remainder of the 10-lap race. He managed to keep second-placed Robert Shwartzman just out of the DRS zone, the final gap to the Russian 1.5 seconds at the finish.

Qualifying race podium
Qualifying race podium

"I didn't want to take full risk at the beginning," said Vips. "The track changes overnight, so you couldn't immediately be at 100 per cent. You had to build it up a little bit. It's never really perfect, but there were no mistakes. I didn't expect starting from pole to be the best thing, but I really got a mega start and Robert didn't get the best one. I think that's why I led into the first braking zone. I think if people around me get a good start tomorrow it'll be a bit harder, but I'll try my best."

Shwartzman, meanwhile, admitted he didn't quite have enough to take the fight to the Hitech driver. "It wasn't the best, but it wasn't bad. It definitely wasn't as good as Juri's start," he said of his start. "Juri was quick at the beginning, he built the gap. Towards the end I started to catch him, but it wasn't enough to get into the DRS."

A fast start set up a surprising podium for Christian Lundgaard, the Dane finishing a lonely third.

Vips leads from pole
Vips leads from pole

Dutchman Richard Verschoor finished fourth, making one of very few passing moves at the front of the field on Callum Ilott at Lisboa with two laps to go.

Dan Ticktum is facing an uphill battle if he's to win a third straight Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix, the Briton caught up in a costly first-lap pile-up at Lisboa Bend. The crash started when Logan Sargeant clipped Arjun Maini, whose Jenzer entry was subsequently fired into the wall. That left a number of cars with nowhere to go, Jake Hughes out on the spot while Ticktum, who was launched into the air, had to pit for repairs. He managed to get to the finish, but was classified 27th and two laps down.

Qualifying Race

1 Juri Vips Hitech Grand Prix 10 0.000s
2 Robert Shwartzman SJM Theodore Racing by Prema 10 1.549s
3 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 10 5.625s
4 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 10 7.402s
5 Callum Ilott Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 10 10.767s
6 Logan Sargeant Carlin Buzz Racing 10 11.216s
7 Alessio Lorandi Trident Motorsport 10 11.900s
8 Ferdinand Habsburg ART Grand Prix 10 13.200s
9 David Beckmann Trident Motorsport 10 20.006s
10 Leonardo Pulcini Campos Racing 10 25.551s
11 Keyvan Andres HWA Racelab 10 26.416s
12 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 10 28.233s
13 Charles Leong Jenzer Motorsport 10 32.905s
14 Enzo Fittipaldi Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 10 33.676s
15 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix 10 34.261s
16 Yuki Tsunoda Hitech Grand Prix 10 34.698s
17 Marcus Armstrong SJM Theodore Racing by Prema 10 35.403s
18 Frederik Vesti SJM Theodore Racing by Prema 10 35.653s
19 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport 10 36.687s
20 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport 10 37.151s
21 Sophia Florsch HWA Racelab 10 38.158s
22 Max Fewtrell Hitech Grand Prix 10 38.634s
23 Olli Caldwell Trident Motorsport 10 39.338s
24 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 10 58.920s
25 David Schumacher Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 10 1m37.059s
DNF Felipe Drugovich Carlin Buzz Racing 8 Retirement
DNF Dan Ticktum Carlin Buzz Racing 8 Retirement
DNF Arjun Maini Jenzer Motorsport 0 Retirement
DNF Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 0 Retirement
DNF Enaam Ahmed Campos Racing 0 Retirement

Full Race

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com