Vips takes pole for qualifying race

Juri Vips
Juri Vips

Juri Vips took a spectacular pole position for the Qualification Race for Suncity Group Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix – FIA F3 World Cup.

The Estonian was in the fight for pole throughout the session, one of a number of drivers to enjoy a spell as the pacesetter in the first half of the second qualifying session.

But it was only after a stoppage to clear pole contender Marcus Armstrong's crashed car that Vips really showed his hand, breaking the two minute, five second barrier with a stunning 2:04.99 lap – five seconds faster than last year's pole time – with seven minutes to go.

While that time initially left him six-tenths clear of the field, the gap was swiftly closed to just under four-tenths by Robert Shwartzman. However, that was as close as the Russian could get, a late red flag due to a stranded Yuki Tsunoda confirming Vips as the 2019 Qualification Race polesitter.

Callum Ilott will start the Qualification Race from third, the Briton impressive on what is his outright debut in an FIA F3 car.

Robert Shwartzm
Robert Shwartzman

Most of the top 10 broke into the two minute five seconds, with Christian Lundgaard, Richard Verschoor, Jake Hughes, Frederik Vesti and Arjun Maini locking out positions fourth to eighth.

Armstrong, meanwhile, will start from ninth, despite his session-ending crash with 20 minutes to go. The Kiwi's afternoon started with a brush of the wall at Moorish Hill on an early run, which required some minor repairs before he could set a representative time.

He then became the first driver into the 'fives' with a 2:05.95, which he promptly followed up by slamming the wall at Police on his next run.

The Armstrong red flag was great news for Dan Ticktum, as his Carlin Buzz Racing crew scrambled to repair his car after his practice crash with David Beckmann. In the four-hour break, the team had to replace the engine, gearbox, rear wing and more, the stoppage creating just enough of a time buffer for the Briton to get out on track. Despite only getting eight laps in he was able to qualify 13th.

It was a similar story for Beckmann, the German only getting out for a five-lap run that left him 24th for the session.

Qualifying Results

Pos No. Driver Nat Team Time GAP
1 6 Juri Vips EST Hitech Grand Prix 2:04.997 0.000s
2 5 Robert Shwartzman RUS SJM Prema Theodore Racing 2:05.376 0.379s
3 25 Callum !Ilott GBR Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 2:05.580 0.583s
4 9 Christian Lundgaard DNK ART Grand Prix 2:05.669 0.672s
5 21 Richard Verschoor NLD MP Motorsport 2:05.723 0.726s
6 16 Jake Hughes GBR HWA Racelab 2:05.774 0.777s
7 3 Frederik Vesti DNK SJM Prema Theodore Racing 2:05.776 0.779s
8 22 Arjun Maini IND Jenzer Motorsport 2:05.814 0.817s
9 2 Marcus Armstrong NZL SJM Prema Theodore Racing 2:05.955 0.958s
10 28 Logan Sargeant USA Carlin Buzz Racing 2:06.043 1.046s
11 10 Ferdinand Habsburg AUT ART Grand Prix 2:06.209 1.212s
12 7 Max Fewtrell GBR Hitech Grand Prix 2:06.368 1.371s
13 30 Daniel Ticktum GBR Carlin Buzz Racing 2:06.406 1.409s
14 15 Alessio Lorandi ITA Trident Motorsport 2:06.428 1.431s
15 20 Liam Lawson NZL MP Motorsport 2:06.455 1.458s
16 29 Felipe Drugovich BRA Carlin Buzz Racing 2:06.637 1.640s
17 12 Oliver Caldwell GBR Trident Motorsport 2:06.641 1.644s
18 11 Sebastian Fernandez ESP ART Grand Prix 2:06.717 1.720s
19 14 David Beckmann DEU Trident Motorsport 2:06.844 2.149s
20 32 Enaam Ahmed GBR Campos Racing 2:07.146 2.310s
21 8 Yuki Tsunoda JPN Hitech Grand Prix 2:07.307 2.582s
22 17 Keyvan Andres IRN HWA Racelab 2:07.579 2.590s
23 26 David Schumacher DEU Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 2:07.587 2.895s
24 19 Lukas Dunner AUT MP Motorsport 2:07.892 3.276s
25 33 Leonardo Pulcini ITA Campos Racing 2:08.287 3.654s
26 24 Andreas Estner DEU Jenzer Motorsport 2:08.651 4.262s
27 18 Sophia Floersch DEU HWA Racelab 2:09.259 4.571s
28 23 Hon Chio Leong MAC Jenzer Motorsport 2:09.568 5.004s
29 31 Alessio Deledda ITA Campos Racing 2:10.114 5.117s
30 27 Enzo Fittipaldi BRA Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 2:10.124 5.127s

Leave a Reply