Quartararo leads opening day of Valencia GP action

Fabio Quartararo
Fabio Quartararo

FP1 pacesetter Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) took top spot honors in FP2 to claim P1 on the opening day at the Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana. Fellow Yamaha man Maverick Vinales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) sits second best after FP2, with World Champion Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) placing P3.

Quartararo was able to lead the way in this morning’s FP1, lapping the 4.0km circuit in 1min 31.455 secs to lead the way from his Independent Riders’ Championship rival Jack Miller. Doing the double in FP2 by setting a time of 1min 30.735secs to end up fastest again, Fabio leads the way into tomorrow’s second day of action by 0.148secs from fellow Yamaha rider Maverick Vinales.

After the emotional retirement announcement of Jorge Lorenzo on Thursday, the Repsol Honda Team were straight back to work at the Valencia GP. It was a classic Valencia day with cold conditions in the morning before improving in the afternoon. Motivation inside the garage remains high after a long season as the Repsol Honda Team aim to defend their Triple Crown.

Reigning World Champion Marc Marquez was the first to take advantage of the afternoon’s improved conditions after a steady morning of work. Setting a 1’30.974 early in the session, Marquez finished the day as the third fastest rider after two productive sessions. Able to consistently lap in the mid to low 1’31s, the eight-time World Champion showed formidable consistency and overall pace. Opting not to fit a new tire, Marquez still has speed to unleash in Qualifying.

Friday Times

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Quartararo Fabio 20 FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1'30.735
2 Vinales Maverick 12 SPA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.148
3 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 0.239
4 Miller Jack 43 AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 0.265
5 Morbidelli Franco 21 ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 0.464
6 Rins Alex 42 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 0.495
7 Mir Joan 36 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 0.545
8 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 0.570
9 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Team Ducati 0.616
10 Zarco Johann 5 FRA LCR Honda Honda 0.634
11 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR LCR Honda Honda 0.698
12 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Ducati Team Ducati 0.720
13 Pirro Michele 51 ITA Ducati Team Ducati 1.030
14 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1.040
15 Bagnaia Francesco 63 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1.133
16 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1.145
17 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1.170
18 Rabat Tito 53 SPA Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1.424
19 Abraham Karel 17 CZE Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1.543
20 Kallio Mika 82 FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1.732
21 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1.833
22 Syahrin Hafizh 55 MAL Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 2.152
23 Lecouna Iker 27 SPA Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 2.379

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com