Mercedes-AMG wrap up the team and constructors titles

Gary Paffett
Gary Paffett

The first title of this 2018 DTM season has already been won. Mercedes-AMG Motorsport head home from Spielberg as the new champions in the constructors’ classification. However, the fight for the drivers’ championship is still open before the season finale at Hockenheim. By taking third place, Gary Paffett (Mercedes-AMG Motorsport PETRONAS) narrowed the gap on overall leader Paul Di Resta (Mercedes-AMG Motorsport REMUS) to just four points. Paul also collected vital points for fourth place. The Scot leads the drivers’ standings with 229 to 225 points ahead of the Hockenheim season finale.

This was Gary’s third podium at Spielberg, his ninth this season and the 47th of his DTM career. Earlier this weekend in the second qualifying session, the 2005 champion had taken his fifth pole of the season, his 17th in the DTM.

Two more Mercedes-AMG Motorsport DTM drivers finished in the points apart from the two title contenders. Pascal Wehrlein (Mercedes-AMG Motorsport PETRONAS) came home sixth and Edoardo Mortara (SILBERPFEIL Energy Mercedes-AMG Motorsport) was tenth. Daniel Juncadella (Mercedes-AMG Motorsport REMUS) finished eleventh just outside the points.

Five-time World Rally Champion Sebastien Ogier (Mercedes-AMG Motorsport REMUS) ended his second DTM race as a guest entrant in 17th position. Lucas Auer (SILBERPFEIL Energy Mercedes-AMG Motorsport) retired from his home race with 15 minutes still on the clock.

One result was certain even before the race had been run: Mercedes-AMG are the new champions in the DTM constructors’ classification! Gary’s three points for pole and Paul’s third place on the grid were enough to secure the win in the constructors' competition for the brand with the three-pointed star even before the third-last race of the season had started. Mercedes-AMG (865 points) have a lead of 302 points on BMW (563) ahead of the season finale at Hockenheim and as a result, cannot be caught in the last two races of the season.

This is the brand’s seventh constructors’ title win in its 30 years of contesting the DTM. Mercedes-AMG won their first DTM constructors’ title in the 1991 season with six wins and 26 podium finishes. It was the brand’s first title win since entering a works team in the 1988 season. Since then, Stuttgart and Affalterbach have secured the trophy for the most successful manufacturer in 1992, 1994, 1995, 2003, 2005 and now again in 2018.

Mercedes-AMG also clinched the team championship in the DTM for the first time in the 1991 season together with their first manufacturers’ title. The team now lead this classification again this season as the last race weekend at Hockenheim approaches. Mercedes-AMG Motorsport PETRONAS (333 points) are 43 points ahead of Mercedes-AMG Motorsport REMUS (290 points). Team SILBERPFEIL Energy Mercedes-AMG Motorsport (257 points) complete the Top Three in the team championship in the run-up to the finale. Thus, only one of the three Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Teams can still win the team title during the last race weekend of the season at Hockenheim.

The next race weekend: The finale of the 2018 DTM season will take place from 12th to 14th October with a home fixture for Mercedes-AMG Motorsport at Hockenheim. The two races will be the last in the race series for Mercedes-AMG Motorsport after 30 years in the DTM.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :