Whincup gives a driving lesson in the wet

Jamie Whincup
Jamie Whincup

Seven-time Supercars Champion Jamie Whincup got one back on Scott McLaughlin to make the weekend score one-all in the Coates Hire Melbourne 400 at Albert Park.

Red Bull Holden racing Team’s Whincup controlled the short sprint race from the front of the grid following a morning of Melbourne race, taking the second race of the weekend from Shell V-Power Racing’s McLaughlin and his team-mate Fabian Coulthard.

Greasy conditions slowed lap times and extra caution in the knowledge the second, longer race of the day was scheduled for this evening at 6.30pm. With valuable Championship points on the line preservation was as important as passing.

Whincup led from start to finish to cross the line 4.2034 seconds clear in the second leg of his 200th Supercars event, despite two of the 13 laps being run behind the Safety Car and a pair of mistakes.

“I was pretty loose out there, I nearly speared off a couple of times," Whincup, who moves up to 10th in the standings, said.

“I actually nearly spun on the warm-up lap as well which would have been embarrassing. But it was good fun… it’ll probably be another wet race this evening, so we’ll see how we go."

The second Red Bull Commodore of Shane van Gisbergen had a big dice with youngster Cam Waters in the Monster Energy Tickford Racing Falcon in the closing stages with the two side by side and toe to toe lap on lap. Waters made one mistake on the last lap which the former Champion and Series leader sized for fourth place.

Nick Percat in the Tempur BJR Holden and Supercheap Auto Racing’s Chaz Mostert had a similar battle for fifth and sixth. Mostert won out in a great sequence on the penultimate lap.

Race 3 Results

1 1 Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Australia 31:49.409 50
2 17 McLaughlin Shell V-Power Racing Team +4.203 46
3 12 Coulthard Shell V-Power Racing Team +4.998 43
4 97 Van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Australia +9.291 40
5 6 C. Waters Monster Energy Racing +10.080 37
6 55 Mostert Supercheap Auto Racing +13.104 34
7 8 Percat Brad Jones Racing +15.343 32
8 23 Caruso Nissan Nismo +15.824 30
9 5 Winterbottom The Bottle-O Racing Team +16.564 28
10 14 Slade Brad Jones Racing +17.513 26
11 2 S. Pye Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing +22.906 24
12 9 Reynolds Erebus Motorsport +25.109 23
13 15 R. Kelly Nissan Motorsport +27.208 22
14 230 Davison Milwaukee Racing +27.678 21
15 18 Holdsworth Preston Hire Racing +28.084 20
16 7 Heimgartner Nissan Motorsport +30.910 19
17 34 J. Golding Wilson Security Racing GRM +39.811 18
18 33 Tander Wilson Security Racing GRM +41.883 17
19 99 A. de Pasquale Erebus Motorsport +42.632 16
20 25 Courtney Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing +43.883 15
21 21 Blanchard CoolDrive Racing +48.033 14
22 19 J. Le Brocq TEKNO Woodstock Racing +49.237 13
23 78 S. De Silvestro Nissan Nismo +1:31.343 12
NC 888 Lowndes Team Vortex +4 Laps 0
NC 56 R. Stanaway Tickford Racing +4 Laps 0
NC 35 T. Hazelwood Bigmate Racing +10 Laps 0

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com