Callum Ilott claims stunning Qualification Race win in Macau

From left, Eriksson, Ilot and Camara
From left, Eriksson, Ilott and Camara

Ferrari protege and SJM Theodore Racing by Prema driver Callum Ilott scored a sensational victory in the Qualification Race ahead of the 64th Macau Grand Prix.

By the end of the first lap, Eriksson had opened up a one second lead over Ilott, and he maintained that advantage in the early stages of the race before his rear tires started going and his pace dropped.

Ilott was soon hassling him hard and, on lap six, he attempted to draft past Eriksson on the run down to Lisboa, but could not quite get in front under braking.

Ilott outbrakes Eriksson to take lead
Ilott outbrakes Eriksson to take lead

However, a lap later, Ilott elected to make his move much earlier – and drafted past before the high speed Mandarin Bend swoop before defending the counter attack at Lisboa.

From there, Ilott’s advantage was obvious as he pulled well clear – taking the checkered flag 7.9 seconds clear of Eriksson.

“I didn’t expect to pull away so quickly," said Ilott. “The first time I tried to overtake Joel after Mandarin, I didn’t really get the run I wanted. So I thought I would try to surprise him and get him before Mandarin. It was still close into Lisboa but I managed to hold it."

Ilott takes lead and begins to pull away
Ilott takes lead and begins to pull away

Over the final laps, Eriksson found himself under pressure from Motopark with VEB teammate Sergio Sette Camara. But despite Camara twice getting alongside Eriksson he could not get past, as the pair eventually came home in second and third.

Maximilian Gunther finished fourth, ahead of Ferdinand Habsburg and Pedro Piquet, who grabbed sixth spot from eventual seventh placed finisher Norris on the final lap.

Ilott never looked back and impressively began pulling away from the chasing pack, eventually taking a commanding victory by nearly eight seconds.

Qualification Race Results

Pos No. Driver Team Nat Engine Behind Gap
1 7 Callum llott SJM Theodore Racing GBR Mercedes 0.000s 0.000s
2 15 Joel Eriksson Motopark with VEB SW Volkswagen 7.957 7.957
3 19 Sergio Sette Camara Motopark with VEB BRA Volkswagen 8.643 0.686
4 9 Maximilian Gunther SJM Theodore Racing DEU Mercedes 9.798 1.155
5 3 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin AUT Volkswagen 10.391 0.593
6 26 Pedro Piquet Van Amersfoort Racing BRA Mercedes 10.821 0.430
7 1 Lando Norris Carlin GBR Volkswagen 11.966 1.145
8 18 Daniel Ticktum Motopark with VEB GBR Volkswagen 12.657 0.691
9 22 Yuhi Sekiguchi B-Max Racing Team JPN Volkswagen 13.418 0.761
10 8 Guanyu Zhou SJM Theodore Racing CHN Mercedes 14.715 1.297
11 21 Kenta Yamashita B-Max Racing Team JPN Volkswagen 15.505 0.790
12 5 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin FRA Volkswagen 17.608 2.103
13 25 Ralf Aron Van Amers foort Racing EST Mercedes 19.371 1.763
14 17 Marino Sato Motopark with VEB SMR Volkswagen 25.456 6.085
15 11 Sho Tsuboi TOM's JPN Toyota 26.614 1.158
16 2 Jehan Daruvala Carlin IND Volkswagen 30.412 3.798
17 16 Tadasuke Makino Motopark with VEB JPN Volkswagen 32.173 1.761
18 20 Alex Palou Three Bond Racing JPN Tomei 32.606 0.433
19 12 Ritomo Miyata TOM's JPN Toyota 37.061 4.455
20 10 Mick Schumacher SJM Theodore Racing DEU Mercedes 37.634 0.573
21 6 Devlin Defrancesco Carlin GBR Volkswagen 51.177 13.543

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :