’Squadra Toro Rosso’

UPDATE This rumor is upgraded to 'fact' now. Red Bull GmbH officially announces that following completion of the takeover of the Minardi Formula 1 team on 1st November, the team will be known as Squadra Toro Rosso (which for the non-linguists among you is Italian for "Team Red Bull.")

In addition Red Bull GmbH announces that its driver line-up across both its Formula 1 teams is David Coulthard, Neel Jani, Christian Klien, Vitantonio Liuzzi and Scott Speed.

10/15/05 Red Bull will rename Minardi 'Squadra Toro Rosso' for the 2006 season, according to widespread paddock speculation.

It is a direct Italian translation of the phrase 'Team Red Bull'. Minardi, sold by Paul Stoddart to drinks magnate Dietrich Mateschitz, is based at Faenza.

'Senior' team Red Bull Racing's principal Christian Horner, meanwhile, refused to confirm or deny speculation that current BMW man Franz Tost would lead Minardi next year.

The Englishman hinted: ''I am sure, fairly shortly, things will be officially confirmed.''

Horner also insisted that 'Squadra Toro Rosso' would be 'totally separate' from Red Bull Racing. ''It will very much be the final step on the ladder for our young driver program,'' he said, ''and the perfect shop window for them.''

Vitantonio Liuzzi and Scott Speed will drive the junior Red Bull cars in 2006, it's expected.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com