Shakeup at DEI?

UPDATE A restructuring of Dale Earnhardt Inc. is underway, the immediate result of which will include a new crew chief next season for Nextel Cup Series driver Dale Earnhardt Jr. Tony Eury Sr., who has served as Earnhardt Jr.'s crew chief since his debut in the series in the 2000 season, will step down and take a less prominent role at DEI, likely overseeing next year's part-time Cup program of 2004 Busch Series championship Martin Truex Jr., multiple sources confirmed Tuesday. Although final details have not been worked out, two scenarios remain regarding a replacement for Eury Sr. on Earnhardt Jr.'s #8 Budweiser Chevy. The most likely is Pete Rondeau, most recently crew chief for DEI teammate Michael Waltrip, taking the same role with Earnhardt Jr.'s team, sources said. A less likely possibility is Tony Eury Jr., currently Earnhardt Jr's car chief, moving to crew chief, with Tony Gibson – currently crew chief of DEI Busch driver Paul Menard – moving into the car chief position., sources said. Should Rondeau move to Earnhardt Jr.'s team, Eury Jr. would likely take over as crew chief of Waltrip's #15 NAPA Chevys, sources said. 11/30/04 reports that they are hearing there could be some crew changes/swapping within the DEI teams, nothing concrete yet, but they could come between the No. 8 Budweiser team of driver Dale Earnhardt Jr. and No. 15 NAPA team of driver Michael Waltrip.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :