2017 Trans-Am series schedule announced

The Chevrolet Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix, an invitational exhibition in 2016, will now feature as a full-fledged stop on the 2017 circuit for the TA and TA2 classes—bumping the number of events for class competitors to 13. However, TA and TA2 competitors will have only 12 finishes count towards the Championship with the lowest finish from the first five events of the season automatically dropped.

“We are very pleased with our 2017 Championship schedule," said John Clagett, President of The Trans Am Race Company. “Trans Am will retain all of our marquee weekends such as Mid-Ohio and Road America alongside NASCAR XFINITY, while formally adding Detroit and the legendary Motor City 100 to our Championship schedule.

“We also are making our return to the Formula Drift weekend at Road Atlanta," added Clagett, “joining a coveted weekend at Watkins Glen (The US Vintage Grand Prix Weekend) and starting a new tradition on the legendary track at Indianapolis. When you take everything into consideration, we can say with confidence that the 2017 Championship schedule is the finest we could secure for our fans, competitors and stake holders."

Although they will once more feature on the Trans Am schedule, Homestead-Miami Speedway, Road Atlanta, Watkins Glen and New Jersey Motorsports park will be visited by Trans Am on new dates— changes that bring about a more balanced schedule for the 2017 season.

“Following up Trans Am’s 50th Anniversary season was never going to be an easy task," continued Clagett. “However, with the minor tweaks throughout the schedule and the addition of Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Detroit to our slate of world-class tracks, Trans Am is poised for another successful year in 2017."

2017 Trans Am Championship Schedule:

Venue Venue Partner
March 5 Sebring International Raceway SVRA
April 9 Homestead-Miami Speedway
May 6 Road Atlanta Formula Drift
June 3-4 Chevrolet Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix Indy Car
June 18 Indianapolis Motor Speedway SVRA
July 2 Brainerd International Raceway
August 12 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course NASCAR XFINITY
August 26 Road America NASCAR XFINITY
September 10 Watkins Glen SVRA
September 24 Virginia International Raceway SVRA
October 8 New Jersey Motorsports Park
November 4 Circuit of the Americas SVRA
November 11 Daytona International Speedway HSR


The Trans Am Series:

The Trans Am Series, America’s Road Racing Series, began igniting the passion of motorsports fans across the world in 1966 and has been home to some of the greatest names in road racing. Today, Trans Am continues to honor its legacy, while challenging the status quo in racing, through meaningful racing platforms and a driver-oriented focus. The Trans Am Series is operated by The Trans Am Race Company, LLC (TARC), through a five-year agreement in which TARC oversees the management and marketing of the Trans Am Series. SCCA Pro Racing sanctions Trans Am events and provides operations services to the Series.

Defending Champions include: Amy Ruman (TA), Gar Robinson (TA2), Ernie Francis, Jr., (TA3 American Muscle) and Lee Saunders (TA3 International). For more on the Trans Am Series visit www.gotransam.com, “like" Trans Am on Facebook at www.facebook.com/gotransam, or follow Trans Am on Twitter at @gotransam.