Rosberg leads Mercedes 1-2 in opening Spa practice

Nico Rosberg happy after FP1
Nico Rosberg happy after FP1

Nico Rosberg turned a la of 1m48.348s to lead opening practice for the Belgium GP at Spa by a comfortable margin over Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton. It was a clean session for Mercedes and their drivers appeared on rails, but both Rosberg and Hamilton used the super-softs in FP1.

Hamilton will take a 15-grid penalty because his fresh power unit featured the use of a sixth MGU-H and turbo.

Kimi Raikkonen was third quick for Ferrari at 1m49.147s, just 1/10th of a sec behind Hamilton but on softs, not super-softs.

Sergio Perez continued his good form in 4th for Force India while Sebastian Vettel rounded out the top-5 in the 2nd Ferrari 1.4 sec behind Rosberg on soft tires.

In his first practice with Manor, Esteban Ocon outpaced teammate Pascal Wehrlein by nearly a second as he finished 16th quickest. Ocon beat Verstappen in F3 for the title so he is the real deal. Keep an eye on him

Fernando Alonso never put up a time and the team has to change his Honda engine.

Three drivers ran the halo for the first time – Rosberg, Nico Hulkenberg and Carlos Sainz Jr.


1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes/Mercedes 1m48.348s 0.000s 27
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes/Mercedes 1m49.078s 0.730s 25
3 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari/Ferrari 1m49.147s 0.799s 24
4 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1m49.274s 0.926s 23
5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari/Ferrari 1m49.768s 1.420s 19
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1m49.782s 1.434s 24
7 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 1m49.865s 1.517s 24
8 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1m50.088s 1.740s 21
9 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1m50.394s 2.046s 31
10 Esteban Gutierrez Haas/Ferrari 1m50.583s 2.235s 21
11 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1m50.899s 2.551s 18
12 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1m51.122s 2.774s 28
13 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1m51.125s 2.777s 16
14 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1m51.424s 3.076s 17
15 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1m51.768s 3.420s 19
16 Esteban Ocon Manor/Mercedes 1m51.787s 3.439s 26
17 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1m52.308s 3.960s 19
18 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 1m52.407s 4.059s 18
19 Pascal Wehrlein Manor/Mercedes 1m52.837s 4.489s 23
20 Kevin Magnussen Renault/Renault 1m53.053s 4.705s 20
21 Jolyon Palmer Renault/Renault 1m53.089s 4.741s 20
Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 3

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :