No. 41 SHR wins most valuable pit crew award

If there's one team on pit road that embodies the essence of old-time NASCAR, it's the No. 41 crew for Stewart-Haas Racing. Led by Crew Chief Tony Gibson, AKA the "Old Man" and Pit Coordinator Joe Piette Jr., the boys on the No. 41 are one of the most hands-on pit crews in racing. Not only are these guys over-the-wall on race day, they also hold positions in the shop at Stewart-Haas Racing.

As modern pit crews evolve with star-studded athletes, this 6-man force of mechanics, fabricators and hardened racers are proving there's more to pit stops than natural agility. You won't find modified impact wrenches here; standard Ingersoll Rand impact guns get the job done just fine. It's the old-school racer mentality of deep focus and confidence from experience that led the No. 41 SHR team to be honored the Most Valuable Pit Crew of 2015.

The No. 41 SHR pit crew, led Piette, will take home Mechanix Wear's prestigious MVPC award and a check for $100,000 for their outstanding performance on pit road. Mechanix Wear's Most Valuable Pit Crew award is the longest-running and most-coveted pit crew award in NASCAR. The MVPC award serves as a testament to consistent performance on pit road.

Each quarter of the Sprint Cup season, NASCAR Crew Chiefs vote for the pit crew contributing the most to the success of their team on race day. Each quarter of the season a semi-finalist is awarded a check for $5,000 and a opportunity to win Mechanix Wear's Most Valuable Pit Crew award and $100,000 at the end of the season.

No. 41 Stewart-Haas Racing Over-the-Wall Pit Crew

Shayne Pipala
Front Tire Changer
Welder & Fabricator

Jon Bernal
Tire Carrier

Sean Cotten
Pit Coach

Coleman Dollarhide
Rear Tire Changer
Shop Mechanic

Dwayne Moore
Rear Tire Carrier
Shop Mechanic

Rick Pigeon
Suspension Shop Manager

Joe Piette
Pit Crew Coordinator

Leave a Reply