Scott Speed 2015 Global Rallycross Champion (Update)


Scott Speed

In the glow of the iconic Las Vegas strip, Scott Speed and the Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross (VARX) team celebrated the 2015 Red Bull Global Rallycross (GRC) championship after a frenetic season finale that saw Mother Nature wreak havoc on the season-ending track. The third place finish for the driver of the No. 41 ORAFOL Volkswagen Beetle GRC secured the championship win, earning the Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Team its first championship victory; in only its second season of competition. Tanner Foust earned a third place finish in the championship standings, adding to the incredible performance of the VARX team for the 2015 season.

"I'm at a loss for words when it comes to describing how it feels to win the championship this season," said Speed, soon after crossing the finish line in Vegas. "The whole Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross team has worked so hard for this result; I'm incredibly proud of this team and am so happy to have been able to bring home the top spot for them."

Tanner Foust added to his extensive resume of Global Rallycross achievements by claiming third place in the 2015 championship standings, with a ninth-place finish in Las Vegas. After contact with the wall on lap one of the Final, Foust managed to pilot his No. 34 Rockstar Energy Drink Volkswagen Beetle to the checkered flag in ninth place, securing command of the 2015 championship podium.

"It was a difficult event here in Las Vegas, but I'm so proud of the entire VARX team for the efforts they've put in this year. They've made our season so, extremely successful," states Foust."Third in the championship obviously isn't what we were hoping for, but I can't wait to start next year, continuing the success we've found in 2015. Congratulations to Scott—I'm glad he could join the GRC champions club, but we'll be gunning for him next year!"

With five victories in the 2015 season, Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross surpassed all other teams, in only its second year of competition. The first full year of running for the Volkswagen Beetle GRC proved the platform's competence, reliability, and speed; earning the iconic model its place in the Global Rallycross record books.

"This was a challenging season, but a hard-earned one that the VARX team is extremely proud of," said Clark Campbell, General Manager Experiential Marketing Volkswagen of America, Inc. "The Beetle GRC cars, with Scott and Tanner behind their wheels, have proven themselves a champion, and a fan-favorite. I would also like to thank the organization behind the Red Bull Global Rallycross Championship. It is not an easy task to stage these events, but the increased viewership and media attention demonstrate that GRC is a series to be taken seriously, and one we are proud to be a part of."

11/05/15 2014 Red Bull Global Rallycross champion Joni Wiman finally won his maiden Red Bull GRC Supercars final in Las Vegas as Scott Speed (Andretti Autosport) won his first championship crown.

Horrendous weather conditions effected the event with much of the field involved in incidents in the early heat races, notably Ken Block – who was looking for his third straight Las Vegas win. He had a heavy wreck in the first heat race, and although he managed to continue in the event, the early shunt appeared to end any hopes of a Vegas hat trick.

Steve Arpin and Speed shared the early heat wins. Speed's victory in Heat 1B came in an event blighted by an early crash that wiped out Austin Dyne, Tanner Foust and David Higgins, who was unable to rejoin the race – a race which was eventually red flagged early due to heavy rain.

In the final, Scott Speed only needed a top eight finish to clinch the title. Despite that, the former F1 driver launched into an early lead, although he didn’t keep it for long. Joni Wiman and Sebastian Eriksson soon got by Speed, who looked to be playing the conservative game with the championship on his mind.

Wiman and Eriksson held onto their 1-2 finish, Wiman taking the win by just under eight seconds at the checkered flag. Speed held onto third which was more than enough to secure the championship.

Steve Arpin finished the final in fourth place, ahead of Brian Deegan and Nelson Piquet Jr. Austin Dyne and Bucky Lasek were the last two drivers to finish on the lead lap.

Speed's championship rival and Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross team mate Foust had his title hopes ended on lap one as he was forced into the wall at the first turn. He eventually finished in ninth, two laps down, ahead of only Ken Block who retired.

The final points standings see Scott Speed at the top of the table, 56 points ahead of Sebastian Eriksson who took fellow Daytona winner Foust’s runner-up spot thanks to his Vegas podium. Foust did manage finish in the top three however, 68 points back from Speed, with Nelson Piquet Jr. and Joni Wiman completing the top five.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :