Porsche Rennsport Reunion V

The Gulf Porsches lead the way
The Gulf Porsches lead the way

An event record crowd of 57,531 Porsche enthusiasts were on hand at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca over the weekend to witness an unprecedented display of motor racing history and heritage during Porsche Rennsport Reunion V.

Porsche Rennsport Reunion V is the largest gathering of Porsche race cars and drivers in the world. The event takes place about every three years and last took place in 2011 at Mazda Raceway. The Reunion is an amazing gathering of motorsports past and present: competition (club racing, historic racing, IMSA Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge), display (with cars from the Porsche Museum in Stuttgart, Germany, and throughout the world), and an opportunity to see, meet and spend time with some of the greatest drivers to ever climb behind the wheel of a Porsche race car – Ickx, Bell, Stuck, Haywood, Mass, Bergmeister, Long, and Bleekemolen, to name just a few.

"I think Porsche Rennsport Reunion V overwhelmed everybody: the cars, the people, the atmosphere," said Gill Campbell, CEO and general manager of Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. "There is a spirituality about Porsche that is unparalleled in any other marque. But looking at 57,000 people’s smiles this weekend, you go away from this without saying, "Wow, that was awesome. Let’s do it again in four years."

From the three days of nearly nonstop on-track action with 320 racing Porsches, to the more than 100 cars on display Le Mans-style for Saturday’s Concours on the Pit Lane, to multiple autograph sessions, to the 75 cars in the Chopard Heritage Display to the more than 2,000 Porsche cars in the corral parking areas, Porsche Rennsport Reunion V will long be remembered and not soon to be surpassed … until Porsche Rennsport Reunion VI.

The following is the list of race winners in the seven groups of racing that took place Saturday and Sunday:

Race Group 1: PCA Sholar-Friedman Cup – Alan J. Friedman, No. 23 1973 911 RSR

Race Group 2: Gmund Cup – Cameron Healy/Portland, Ore., No. 55 1953 Porsche Cooper Pooper

Race Group 3: Eifel Trophy – Alan Terpins/Sao Paulo, Brazil, No. 40 1968 Porsche 911 T/R

Race Group 4: Weissach Cup – Bruce Canepa/Scotts Valley, Calif., No. 2 1969 Porsche 917K

Race Group 5: Carrera Trophy – Charles Nearburg/Dallas, No. 70 1980 Porsche 935 K3

Race Group 6: Stuttgart Cup – Jeroen Bleekemolen/Tavares, Fla., No. 5 2006 Porsche RS Spyder

Race Group 7: IMSA Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge – Elliott Skeer/Huntington, N.Y., Wright Motorsports No. 14 Porsche 991/2015

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com