Former F1 and ChampCar racer Timo Glock wins at Oschersleben in BMW podium lockout

Pole position, victory and the fastest race lap for Timo Glock. Things went according to plan on the DTM Saturday at the Motorsport Arena Oschersleben. Having started the race from first place, Glock drove an undisputed lights-to-flag victory home and secured his second major success in the most popular international touring car series after 28 laps.

A big joy also for his team principal Ernest Knoors as the BMW Team MTEK achieved a clean sweep of the first two places with Bruno Spengler finishing second.

Timo Glock leading Bruno Spengler
Timo Glock leading Bruno Spengler

Antonio Felix da Costa in third place and Augusto Farfus in fourth made it a perfect Saturday for BMW. In spite of problems on his Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM, Pascal Wehrlein still managed to bring fifth place home.

His reward for keeping on after the power steering failed is first place in the drivers' standings. Prior to the second race on Sunday at Oschersleben, the 20-year-old is now leading with 130 points from Audi driver Mattias Ekstrom (126 points).

The Swede had started the race from the last row on the grid and took the checkered flag in 14th place.

Race 2 is Sunday

Race 1 Results:

Pos Driver Team Car Time/Behind
1 Timo Glock MTEK BMW 42m25.324s
2 Bruno Spengler MTEK BMW 1.876s
3 Antonio Felix da Costa Schnitzer BMW 7.881s
4 Augusto Farfus RBM BMW 10.051s
5 Pascal Wehrlein HWA Mercedes 12.734s
6 Marco Wittmann RMG BMW 13.399s
7 Tom Blomqvist RBM BMW 14.040s
8 Martin Tomczyk Schnitzer BMW 18.542s
9 Miguel Molina Abt Audi 28.264s
10 Daniel Juncadella Mücke Mercedes 30.648s
11 Maxime Martin RMG BMW 33.639s
12 Timo Scheider Phoenix Audi 33.928s
13 Paul Di Resta HWA Mercedes 34.438s
14 Mattias Ekstrom Abt Audi 39.684s
15 Lucas Auer ART Mercedes 40.100s
16 Maximilian Gotz Mücke Mercedes 40.654s
17 Adrien Tambay Abt Audi 41.131s
18 Christian Vietoris HWA Mercedes 41.898s
19 Edoardo Mortara Abt Audi 6 Laps
DNF Mike Rockenfeller Phoenix Audi Retired
DNF Gary Paffett ART Mercedes Retired
DNF Nico Müller Rosberg Audi Retired
DNF Jamie Green Rosberg Audi Retired
DNF Robert Wickens HWA Mercedes Retired

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :