Piquet wins DC GRC

Nelson Piquet Jr.

Nelson Piquet, Jr. started from pole in the final of today's Red Bull Global Rallycross Washington D.C. Presented by Volkswagen and led flag-to-flag to capture his first GRC win. Bryan Herta Rallysport's Patrik Sandell and series-championship leader Ken Block rounded out the podium.

Chip Ganassi Racing's Steve Arpin made it a Ford sweep of the top-four positions. Tanner Foust came home fifth in the #34 Rock Star Volkswagen.

Piquet's win was not only the first Rallycross win for the Formula E champion, also marked a breakthrough SH Rallycross. The team owned by James "Sulli" Sullivan joined the series in 2014, and had scored numerous podiums but today celebrated the first win. A very emotional Sullivan was doused with champagne by the SH crew in victory lane.

The series heads to Los Angeles next month for a doubleheader weekend. Block currently leads the championship by 46 points.

Brian Carroccio reporting for AutoRacing1

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com