Dakar Day 8: Yazeed Al-Rajhi gets his first stage win

Yazeed Al-Rajhi has been impressive since the start of his maiden Dakar, but he had to wait until the eighth stage to claim his first win in the toughest rally raid in the world. This prestigious triumph confirms the talent of the Saudi driver, still very much in the running for overall glory.

Yazeed Al-Rajhi, who won the Rally of Egypt ahead of current leader Nasser Al-Attiyah, is not an unfamiliar name among fans of the sport. However, the Saudi tackled the challenge of his maiden Dakar humbly, with his sights set on a top 10 finish. What is for sure is that he did not expect to claim his first win at the end of the first stage of the prestigious stage through the jaw-dropping Salar de Uyuni. Al-Rajhi has become more than just a new Dakar stage winner, taking on a new dimension today by moving up to within 18 minutes of Al-Attiyah in the general classification and keeping his chances open to win the Dakar in his first attempt.

He also netted Toyota its first win this year, an honor that seemed to have Giniel de Villiers' name on it after he outperformed the rest of the field in the first 746 km of today's special. However, the South African lost a few precious minutes on the last dunes before Iquique and conceded a few more seconds to Al-Attiyah. Orlando Terranova, no longer concerned about the general classification, followed up on yesterday's victory with a second place in today's stage, 1'12" behind the winner. Krzysztof Holowczyc lost 3'12" but capitalized on Bernhard ten Brinke's bad day at the office to consolidate his hold on fourth place overall.

Meanwhile, in the truck category, with five stages out of eight under his belt, Eduard Nikolaev and his Kamaz were once again head and shoulders above the rest in Iquique. His fifth win came with the added bonus of putting over eleven minutes into Gerard de Rooy on the finish line, pushing the Russian driver up to third overall behind teammates Ayrat Mardeev and Andrey Karginov and piling the pressure on them.

Bikes: Goncalves fights on
Paulo Goncalves has been extremely consistent from the start, but he knows he also needs to win if he is to triumph in Buenos Aires. It was mission accomplished for him on Sunday as he claimed his second Dakar win in the stage from Iquique to Uyuni and stayed in contention for the overall win.

The ambitious Paulo Goncalves spent the first week waiting to jump on any opening left by the Joan Barreda/Marc Coma leading duo. However, the Portuguese rider stepped right into the fray on the way to Salar de Uyuni, taking his first win in 2015 by a wafer-thin margin of 14 seconds over Marc Coma and moving up to ten minutes behind overall leader Barreda. The first part of the marathon stage did not go according to plan for the leader of the Honda clan, who took a tumble 200 km into the special and smashed his handlebar.

The Spaniard rode heroically with one hand for 120 km, but saw his lead in the general classification halved. He will have to repair the motorcycle alone this evening and hope one of his teammates can give him a spare handlebar. Matthias Walkner had a much better day at the office, finishing third half a minute behind the leader and ahead of Pablo Quintanilla and Toby Price, confirming the rise of the new generation. Michael Metge, on the other hand, fell and lost 39 minutes.

Nelson Augusto Sanabria, who finished his maiden Dakar in twelfth place in 2014, was sitting pretty in seventh at the start of today's stage in Iquique. The Paraguayan was already delighted with that, but he was over the moon this evening after taking his first win in Uyuni. 5'46" back, Rafa‚ Sonik padded his overall lead over Ignacio Casale, who opened his suitcase of courage to finish 11'37" down with an injured leg.

Cars Day 8 Results Top-10

Pos. No. Name Mark Time Behind Penalty
2 305 TERRANOVA (ARG)/GRAUE (ARG) MINI 03:28:01 00:01:12
3 301 AL-ATTIYAH (QAT)/BAUMEL (FRA) MINI 03:29:25 00:02:36
4 303 DE VILLIERS (ZAF)/VON ZITZEWITZ (DEU) TOYOTA 03:29:38 00:02:49
5 307 HOLOWCZYC (POL)/PANSERI (FRA) MINI 03:30:01 00:03:12
6 300 ROMA (ESP)/PERIN (FRA) MINI 03:30:13 00:03:24
7 302 PETERHANSEL (FRA)/COTTRET (FRA) PEUGEOT 03:30:35 00:03:46
8 310 VASILYEV (RUS)/ZHILTSOV (RUS) MINI 03:32:49 00:06:00
9 319 GARAFULIC (CHL)/PALMEIRO (PRT) MINI 03:36:58 00:10:09
10 306 SOUSA (PRT)/FIUZA (PRT) MITSUBISHI 03:38:06 00:11:17

Cars Overall Standings Top-10

Pos. No. Name Mark Time Behind Penalty
1 301 AL-ATTIYAH (QAT)/BAUMEL (FRA) MINI 26:41:15 00:02:00
2 303 DE VILLIERS (ZAF)/VON ZITZEWITZ (DEU) TOYOTA 26:49:42 00:08:27
3 325 ALRAJHI (SAU)/GOTTSCHALK (DEU) TOYOTA 26:59:55 00:18:40
4 307 HOLOWCZYC (POL)/PANSERI (FRA) MINI 27:35:53 00:54:38
5 315 TEN BRINKE (NLD)/COLSOUL (BEL) TOYOTA 28:04:07 01:22:52
6 314 VAN LOON (NLD)/ROSEGAAR (NLD) MINI 28:07:06 01:25:51
7 309 LAVIEILLE (FRA)/MAIMON (FRA) TOYOTA 28:29:56 01:48:41
8 302 PETERHANSEL (FRA)/COTTRET (FRA) PEUGEOT 28:33:01 01:51:46
9 306 SOUSA (PRT)/FIUZA (PRT) MITSUBISHI 28:48:28 02:07:13
10 320 CHABOT (FRA)/PILLOT (FRA) SMG 29:08:05 02:26:50

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com