Marquez continues perfect 2014 with sixth straight pole

Marc Marquez, simply unbeatable in 2014

Having taken MotoGP pole at the Gran Premio d’Italia TIM on Saturday afternoon Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) heads the grid again for Sunday’s sixth race of the year, with Andrea Iannone (Pramac Racing) and Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) also featuring on the front row.

A 1'47.270 lap gave Marquez his sixth consecutive pole this year and his seventh successive top grid spot including Valencia last year, as his perfect form continued.

An excellent effort from Iannone (+0.18s) saw him show his pace again to get his first premier class front row start, the perfect response to his two recent DNF results and an ideal performance from an Italian rider on an Italian bike at the Gran Premio d'Italia TIM.

Lorenzo got his third row one result of the year in third place, meanwhile, as he lapped a quarter of a second off Marquez.

Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda) still holds the pole record at Mugello with his 1'47.157s time from last year – and he qualified in fourth position with a late lap 0.314s from today’s pole.

A big crash on an out lap ended Monster Yamaha Tech3 rider Pol Espargaro’s session early as he went down at turn nine and was clearly annoyed, but the Spaniard was unhurt and still ended up 5th on the grid.

A good qualifying result for Cal Crutchlow (Ducati Team) in sixth saw him outperform teammate Andrea Dovizioso who was eighth.

Sandwiching Dovizioso on the third row are Bradley Smith (Monster Yamaha Tech3) and Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda MotoGP) in seventh and ninth places respectively, with all three qualifying within 0.5s of pole.

Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) did not get the Q2 result he wanted as he qualified down in 10th for his 300th Grand Prix race.

Alvaro Bautista (GO&FUN Honda Gresini) and Aleix Espargaro (NGM Forward Racing) made it through from Q1 but were ultimately 11th and 12th.

Check out the odds of your favorite riders on bwin and click here to get a sign up bonus of £30.


Pos. Rider Num. Nation Team Constructor Time
1 Marc Marquez 93 ESP Repsol Honda Team HONDA 1'47.270
2 Andrea Iannone 29 ITA Pramac Racing DUCATI 1'47.450
3 Jorge Lorenzo 99 ESP Yamaha Factory Racing YAMAHA 1'47.521
4 Dani Pedrosa 26 ESP Repsol Honda Team HONDA 1'47.584
5 Pol Espargaro 44 ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA 1'47.612
6 Cal Crutchlow 35 GBR Ducati Team DUCATI 1'47.659
7 Bradley Smith 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA 1'47.681
8 Andrea Dovizioso 4 ITA Ducati Team DUCATI 1'47.754
9 Stefan Bradl 6 GER LCR Honda MotoGP HONDA 1'47.765
10 Valentino Rossi 46 ITA Yamaha Factory YAMAHA 1'47.791
11 Alvaro Bautista 19 ESP Go & Fun Honda Gresini HONDA 1'48.132
12 Aleix Espargaro 41 ESP NGM Mobile Forward Racing YAMAHA 1'48.218
13 Yonny Hernandez 68 COL Pramac Racing DUCATI 1'48.722
14 Scott Redding 45 GBR Go & Fun Honda Gresini HONDA 1'48.754
15 Michele Pirro 51 ITA Ducati Team DUCATI 1'48.794
16 Karel Abraham 17 CZE Cardion AB Motoracing HONDA 1'48.894
17 Hiroshi Aoyama 7 JPN Drive M7 Aspar HONDA 1'49.505
18 Colin Edwards 5 USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing YAMAHA 1'49.780
19 Hector Barbera 8 ESP Avintia Racing MotoGP FTR-KAWASAKI 1'49.932
20 Michael Laverty 70 GBR Paul Bird Motorsport ART & PBM 1'50.505
21 Mike Di Meglio 63 FRA Avintia Racing MotoGP FTR-KAWASAKI 1'50.515
22 Broc Parkes 23 AUS Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 1'50.875
23 Michel Fabrizio 84 ITA IodaRacing Project IODA-SUTER 1'53.116
24 Nicky Hayden 69 USA Drive M7 Aspar HONDA DNS

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :