Tom Blomqvist wins, therefore reducing Ocon’s lead

At the start, Blomqvist locks his wheels, while Verstappen takes the lead

Briton Tom Blomqvist (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) secured the winner’s trophy in the first of the three FIA Formula 3 European championship races contested this weekend at the 4.381 km Hungaroring. At the Formula 1 circuit located not far from Budapest. He passed pole-sitter Esteban Ocon (Prema Powerteam) for the lead right at the start and afterwards, he controlled the race to clinch a never jeopardized win. Esteban Ocon and Felix Rosenqvist (kfzteile24 Mucke Motorsport) joined the Briton on the podium. In the championship standings, Lotus F1 Junior Econ defended his lead but second-placed Blomqvist succeeded in reducing the gap to 50 points.

Pole-sitter Esteban Ocon lost his lead to Blomqvist as early as on the way to turn one and Max Verstappen (Van Amersfoort Racing) also passed the 17-year-old Frenchman early. A short time later, however, the Dutchman was re-passed by Ocon and on lap six; he pitted due to a clutch problem and was forced into retirement. So, Felix Rosenqvist inherited third position.

In the opening stages, Ocon was able to match the pace of race leader Blomqvist but then, the 20-year-old succeeded in opening a gap on the championship leader and increasing it lap by lap. Afterwards, Ocon drove a lonely race as Rosenqvist in third position wasn't able to pressure him. Behind the Swede, Lucas Auer (kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport) and Jordan King (Carlin) followed in fourth and fifth positions.

From L to R – Ocon 2nd – Blomqvist and Rosenqvist 3rd

While the battle for the positions at the front end of the field ended early, quite a number of drivers in the midfield were ‘rewarded’ with drive-through-penalties. The first driver to receive a drive-through was seventh-placed Gustavo Menezes (Van Amersfoort Racing) for having ignored the track boundaries. The penalty cost the US-American his best FIA Formula 3 European Championship position to date and in the end, he had to settle for finishing 17th. Antonio Fuoco (Prema Powerteam) even received two drive-through-penalties: the first for having ignored the track boundaries and the second for having crossed the white line at the pit lane exit. Consequently, the Ferrari Driver Academy protégé finished 19th. Meanwhile, 18-year-old Dutch rookie Jules Szymkowiak (Van Amersfoort Racing) celebrated his best FIA Formula 3 European Championship result to date by coming sixth. Félix Serralles (Team West-Tec F3), Dennis van de Laar (Prema Powerteam), Mitch Gilbert (Fortec Motorsports) and Sean Gelael (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) completed the top 10.

Tom Blomqvist (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin): “I made a good start and also prevailed in the battle for the lead against Max Verstappen. My car was really good and proved to be particularly fast in the second third of the race. So, I was able to increase my lead lap by lap. I knew that I would have a good chance of winning the race – as long as I wouldn’t make any mistake, that is."

Results – 21 laps:

Pos Driver Team/Car Behind
1. Tom Blomqvist (GB) Carlin Dallara-VW +0.000s
2. Esteban Ocon (F) Prema Dallara-Mercedes +4.897s
3. Felix Rosenqvist (S) Mucke Dallara-Mercedes +13.180s
4. Lucas Auer (A) Mucke Dallara-Mercedes +14.517s
5. Jordan King (GB) Carlin Dallara-VW +17.592s
6. Jules Szymkowiak (NL) Van Amersfoot Dallara-VW +34.332s
7. Felix Serralles (PR) West-Tec Dallara Mercedes +36.090s
8. Dennis van de Laar (NL) Prema Dallara-Mercedes +39.033s
9. Mitch Gilbert (AUS) Fortec Dallara-Mercedes +42.057s
10. Sean Gelael (IND) Carlin Dallara-VW +42.765s
11. Jake Dennis (GB) Carlin Dallara-VW +43.241s
12. Alexander Toril (E) T-Sport Dallara-NBE +44.817s
13. Felipe Guimares (BR) Double R Dallara-Mercedes +46.140s
14. John Bryant-Meisner (GB) Fortec Dallara-Mercedes +49.346s
15. Roy Nissany (ISR) Mucke Dallara-Mercedes +49.986s
16. Spike Goddard (AUS) T-Sport Dallara-NBE +51.521s
17. Gustavo Menezes (USA) Van Amersfoot Dallara-VW +55.888s
18. Hector Hurst (GB) West-Tec Dallara Mercedes +1m05.790s
19. Antonio Fuoco (I) Prema Dallara-Mercedes +1m06.397s
20. Tatiana Calderon (CO) Zeller Dallara-Mercedes +1m19.632s
21. Sandro Zeller (CH) Zeller Dallara-Mercedes +1m24.898s
22. Nicholas Latifi (CDN) Prema Dallara-Mercedes +1m35.591s
23. Antonio Giovinazzi (I) Carlin Dallara-VW +2 laps
DNF Max Verstappen (NL) Van Amersfoot Dallara-VW 6 laps
DNF Michele Beretta (I) EuroInternational Dallara-Mercedes 0 laps

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :