Three candidates named for 20th Gorsline Scholarship

Three of auto racing's rising stars under the age of 21 who have already demonstrated their talents on North American race tracks for at least a dozen years are candidates for the 20th Gorsline Scholarship in 2014.

The Gorsline Scholarship is presented by Gorsline Company of Rochester, N.Y., the leader in high-risk motorsports insurance. It recognizes aspiring drivers and presents a program that provides tools that will assist these drivers in developing skills on and off the track to attain their professional goals.

The scholarship winner will be named on Thursday, March 13, during the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring (Fla.) fueled by Fresh From Florida, and will work with Dr. Jacques Dallaire, Director of Performance Prime, to create an individually-designed performance-enhancement program, courtesy of Gorsline Company.

"Each of these drivers is an outstanding competitor who started at a very young age. They've already shown how far their talents can take them in this sport," said John Gorsline, principal of Gorsline Company. "We at Gorsline Company are excited to recognize the achievements of them all. They are true rising stars."

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. was the most recent recipient of the Gorsline Scholarship, in 2012. No scholarship was awarded in 2013.

The candidates for the 2014 Gorsline Scholarship are:

Matthew Brabham – (Indianapolis and Gold Coast Australia) – Part of the Brabham Family dynasty as grandson of Jack Brabham and son of Geoff Brabham. Will turn 20 on Feb. 25. Began racing karts at age 7, winning 46 races as well as the Yamaha and SE QLD rookie titles through 2007, before moving up to the Jr National Light class. In 2008 he won both the NSW and QLD State Jr National Light titles and in 2009 the Jr Rotax Young Guns title. He then switched to Formula Ford, finishing second once and third once in the Victorian State series and was selected to join the CAMS Rising Star program for 2010. Competed in the Victorian Formula Ford State Series in 2011 and in the Australian National Championship, winning eight State races and two National races. The following two years saw him become the 2012 USF2000 Series Champion and Rookie of the Year, with four wins, three track records and six poles, and the 2013 Pro Mazda Series Champion and Rookie of the Year, with 13 wins and 10 poles. Was awarded BRDC Rising Star membership and was nominated for a Team USA scholarship. Will race for Andretti Autosport in Indy Lights in 2014.

Sean Rayhall – (Winston, Ga.) – Will turn 19 on March 10. Started racing karts at age 7, and at age 10 raced 125 shifter karts and Bandolero races. By age 11 was a nationally-ranked kart driver. Moved to formula cars at age 12 and became the youngest driver in North America to win an open-wheel race. He then became the youngest driver to win a Skip Barber Series and at 13 in the Skip Barber Nationals was the youngest driver in North America to win a National race. Switched to oval racing in a Legends car at 14 and dominated the young lions division winning numerous events. Also won his first professional title, the inaugural Formula Enterprise Pro Championship that year. Then moved up to the Pro Legends class and dominated again. At 16 he continued racing Legends, GT cars, Prototypes and Pro Cup and Late Model Stock Cars. Won the 2013 Cooper Tire Prototype Lites Championship. Having finished second in his ALMS debut last year at Petit LeMans, has his eyes set on the PC title in the 2014 TUDOR United SportsCar Championship. To date, has participated in 171 car races and has won 74 times, with 118 podiums, 47 poles and 70 fastest laps.

Madison Snow – (Lehi, Utah) – Turned 19 in December. Started racing at age 5 in karts and continues to race karts along with cars. In 2010, at the age of 14 raced a Miata in MPRA, a series at Miller Motorsports Park, placing second in the championship. He moved up to racing Porsches in 2011 at age 15 and currently races in the IMSA GT3 Cup Challenge in North America. Youngest winner to win a Porsche Cup race, and placed first in both races at the Gold Cup Class at Miller Motorsports Park. Has numerous wins and championships in karting. Is a member of a family of racers, including Melanie Snow, Martin Snow and McKay Snow.

Previous recipients of the Gorsline Scholarship are:
2012 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
2011 Conor Daly
2010 Josef Newgarden
2009 Joel Miller
2008 Dane Cameron
2007 JR Hildebrand
2006 Katherine Legge
2005 Colin Braun
2004 Ryan Lewis
2003 Rocky Moran Jr.
2002 Danica Patrick
2001 Patrick Long
2000 Bryan Sellers
1999 David Besnard
1998 Buddy Rice
1997 Butch Leitzinger
1996 Jerry Nadeau
1995 Anthony Lazzaro
1994 Bryan Herta

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :