CORE autosport to defend ALMS PC championships in 2013

With the final American Le Mans Series (ALMS) season set to be run in 2013, CORE autosport will attempt to score its third consecutive Prototype Challenge (PC) team and driver championships, starting at Sebring next March.

Success in the ever-competitive PC class – with single-make engines, transmissions and chassis – comes down to driver talent and preparation, and the Rock Hill-based organization has elevated those aspects with rigorous processes and procedures.

This preparation has paid off, with CORE autosport scoring two consecutive driver and team championships in only two years of ALMS competition (2011 and 2012).

Alex Popow captured the driver championship in 2012, recording an incredible run of consistency by winning five races and finishing on the podium in all ten rounds of the championship. Popow also took the “Rookie of the Year" title with his championship run.

Not only did CORE win the driver’s title both years, but they also took the second place spot with team owner Jon Bennett (2011 and 2012) and Colin Braun (2012).

For the ALMS PC team championships, 2012 was a dominating season, clinching the title after round seven of 10. The team in total won eight races and finished on the podium 17 times.

Focus has now turned to rebuilding and refining the cars and securing driver lineups in the #05 and #06 ORECA FLM09s, as well as continuing to evaluate options to expand into additional sports car categories.

The 16th and final ALMS season commences at the 61st running of the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Fueled by Fresh from Florida is set for Saturday, March 16, at Sebring International Raceway.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :