Hunter-Reay to race in ROC

Ryan Hunter-Reay

IndyCar Series Champion Ryan Hunter-Reay has become the latest driver to sign up as the Race Of Champions celebrates its 25th year of competition in 2012. After a string of victories this year, Hunter-Reay sealed the title by just three points at last month’s dramatic season finale. The result makes the American the first major motor sport champion of 2012 and has earned him an invitation to Bangkok’s Rajamangala Stadium for the Race Of Champions on the weekend of December 15-16.

Held every year since 1988, the end-of-season contest brings together the world’s greatest drivers from motor sport’s main disciplines – including Formula 1, world rally, touring cars, Le Mans, IndyCar and the X-Games – and sets them free to battle head-to-head in identical machinery. Drivers pair up for the ROC Nations Cup, this year scheduled for Saturday 15 December, before the individual Race Of Champions takes place on Sunday 16 December.

The most successful American driver currently racing in open-wheel competition, Hunter-Reay is the only driver to have taken victories in IndyCar, CART, Champ Car, ALMS and GrandAm. Indeed, his total of 12 IndyCar wins is more than all his current American rivals combined.

Hunter-Reay enjoyed a mighty 2012 including a run of three consecutive wins, yet he still trailed Australian racer Will Power by 36 points with two races left. The American duly won in Baltimore to reduce the gap. Then in the Fontana finale Power crashed out before returning to the track to ensure Hunter-Reay needed to finish in 5th place or higher. After a nail-biting final six-lap shootout, he brought his Andretti Autosport IndyCar home in 4th to become the first home-grown champion in a unified IndyCar series since 1994.

Now Hunter-Reay has won the chance to see how he matches up against the best motor sport stars from around the world at ROC 2012. The field already features a total of nine Formula 1 world championships courtesy of German greats Michael Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel. They will be joined by plenty more motor sport legends in the run-up to December’s event in Bangkok.

Hunter-Reay said: “After a career best season culminating in an IndyCar Series Championship, I could see no better way to cap off 2012 than representing the USA and IndyCar, competing against the best drivers from other top level championships around the world at ROC. It has always been a goal of mine and I’m honored to be one of the few invitees to compete in the Race Of Champions."

Race organizer Fredrik Johnsson added: “We are delighted that Ryan will be joining us for ROC in Bangkok. He has had a fantastic season in the IndyCar Series and he proved his worth by coming out on top in such a thrilling finale. Now we’ll all be very interested to see how he gets on against the best drivers from around the world. He will also race for Team USA, which has a great history of its own in the ROC Nations Cup, and is overdue another victory…"

After recent visits to London’s Wembley Stadium (2007-2008), Beijing’s ‘Bird’s Nest’ Olympic Stadium (2009) and Dusseldorf’s ESPRIT arena (2010-2011), ROC 2012 will take place on a specially constructed tarmac track with two parallel lanes winding their way round Bangkok’s Rajamangala Stadium. Built for the 1998 Asian Games, the 50,000-capacity stadium has since hosted Thailand’s home football matches plus athletics, pop concerts and even political rallies.

Tickets go on sale on October 15 while information about media accreditation will be released this month. For hi-res imagery please visit Sign up for all the latest updates at, @raceofchampions on Twitter or Race Of Champions on Facebook.

The full driver line-up for the 2011 Race Of Champions was:

Michael SCHUMACHER, seven-time Formula 1 World Champion
Sebastian VETTEL, 2010 and 2011 Formula 1 World Champion
Jenson BUTTON, 2009 Formula 1 World Champion
David COULTHARD, 13 Formula 1 grand prix victories
Tom KRISTENSEN, eight-time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner
Andy PRIAULX, three-time World Touring Car Champion
Sébastien OGIER, winner of five WRC rallies in 2011
Romain GROSJEAN, driver for Lotus F1 team and 2011 GP2 Series Champion
Vitaly PETROV, driver for Caterham F1 team
Timo GLOCK, driver for Marussia F1 team
Mattias EKSTROM, double DTM champion and triple ROC Champion of Champions
Timo SCHEIDER, double DTM Champion
Martin TOMCZYK, 2011 DTM Champion
Juho HÄNNINEN, 2011 S-WRC Champion and 2010 IRC Champion
Jan KOPECK�, three-time Intercontinental Rally Challenge runner-up
Filipe ALBUQUERQUE, DTM star and 2010 ROC Champion of Champions
Brian DEEGAN, 13 X-games medals including Rally Cross gold in 2011
Travis PASTRANA, four-time Rally America winner and X-Games legend

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :