Four (Five) drivers to incur grid penalties for Baltimore

UPDATE The #83 entry of Chip Ganassi Racing driven by Charlie Kimball has also been issued a 10 spot grid penalty in Baltimore for not complying with Rule 15.5.1. That makes five drivers who will be set back.

08/31/12 IZOD IndyCar Series officials announced penalties for the following cars for this weekend’s event at Baltimore. All cars will be penalized 10 grid places for unapproved engine changes:

No. 14 ABC Supply car for A.J. Foyt Racing (Mike Conway) — fitting sixth engine

No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (Takuma Sato) — fitting seventh engine

No. 67 Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing (Bruno Junqueira) — fitting sixth engine

No. 78 Nuclear Clean Air Energy Lotus HVM Racing (Simona de Silvestro) — carry-over for fitting seventh engine at Sonoma.

INDYCAR provided the following update regarding the status of fresh engines remaining for each team for the remaining two races of the IZOD IndyCar Series season:


Team Driver Engine Count
2 Team Penske Ryan Briscoe On Engine 5
3 Team Penske Helio Castroneves On Engine 5
4 Panther Racing JR Hildebrand On Engine 4 – 1 Engine Remaining
5 KV Racing Technology EJ Viso On Engine 4 – 1 Engine Remaining
6/7 Dragon Racing Katherine Legge & Sebastien Bourdais On Engine 5
8 KV Racing Technology Rubens Barrichello On Engine 5
9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Scott Dixon On Engine 6
10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Dario Franchitti On Engine 4 – 1 Engine Remaining
11 KV Racing Technology w/ SH Tony Kanaan On Engine 4 – 1 Engine Remaining
12 Team Penske Will Power On Engine 5
14 AJ Foyt Enterprises Mike Conway Will use Engine 6 at Baltimore
15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Takuma Sato Will use Engine 7 at Sonoma
18 Dale Coyne Racing Justin Wilson On Engine 5
19 Dale Coyne Racing James Jakes On Engine 4 – 1 Engine Remaining
20 Ed Carpenter Racing Ed Carpenter On Engine 5
22 Panther / Dreyer & Reinbold Oriol Servia On Engine 4 – 1 Engine Remaining
26 Andretti Autosport Marco Andretti On Engine 5
27 Andretti Autosport James Hinchcliffe On Engine 5
28 Andretti Autosport Ryan Hunter-Reay On Engine 5
38 Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing Graham Rahal On Engine 5
67 Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Josef Newgarden Will use Engine 6 at Baltimore
77 Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports Simon Pagenaud On Engine 5
78 Lotus-HVM Racing Simona de Silvestro On Engine 7
83 Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing Charlie Kimball On Engine 5
98 Bryan Herta Autosport w/ Curb-Agajanian Alex Tagliani On Engine 5

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :