Haryanto sails to pole in Spa

Rio Haryanto has grabbed his maiden GP2 pole position in treacherous conditions to top a very wet qualifying session this afternoon in Spa Francorchamps, setting the pace throughout to lead home Lotus teammates James Calado and Esteban Gutiérrez.

The Indonesian's best time of 2:17.535 put him on pole by over a tenth in a session where he seemed to be able to improve at will, while his rivals slithered and slid all around the fabled circuit.

Once again the weather caused delays to the start of the session, but Haryanto was the first man on track and was soon setting the pace for his rivals, with Giedo van der Garde and Calado his main competitors on the timesheets. But whenever the others got close, the Indonesian seemed to find something else to improve his times as the session wound on.

Marcus Ericsson was Haryanto's closest rival as the field came back to the pits halfway through the session, and when they re-emerged first Calado and then the Swede pushed hard to put themselves on the top spot, but the Indonesian eased his way to pole with four minutes remaining before watching as the Lotus duo tried and failed to match his time.

Behind the top three were iSport teammates Ericsson and Jolyon Palmer, ahead of Davide Valsecchi, Sergio Canamasas, this morning's fastest man Fabio Leimer, Felipe Nasr and Giedo van der Garde. With changeable conditions likely, tomorrow's feature race promises to live up to the circuit's usual reputation for fireworks.

Spa-Francorchamps – Qualifying


Driver Team Laptime Laps
1. Rio Haryanto Carlin 2:17.535 13
2. James Calado Lotus GP 2:17.643 11
3. Esteban Gutiérrez Lotus 2:17.736 12
4. Marcus Ericsson iSport International 2:18.058 11
5. Jolyon Palmer iSport International 2:18.368 12
6. Davide Valsecchi DAMS 2:18.397 12
7. Sergio Canamasas Venezuela GP Lazarus 2:18.582 11
8. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 2:18.603 11
9. Felipe Nasr DAMS 2:18.801 12
10. Giedo van der Garde Caterham Racing 2:18.930 11
11. Stefano Coletti Scuderia Coloni 2:19.328 12
12. Nathanaël Berthon Racing Engineering 2:19.721 12
13. Max Chilton Carlin 2:19.803 12
14. Fabio Onidi Scuderia Coloni 2:20.100 12
15. Josef Kral Barwa Addax Team 2:20.224 12
16. Victor Guerin Ocean Racing Technology 2:20.289 13
17. Julian Leal Trident Racing 2:20.455 13
18. Ricardo Teixeira Rapax 2:20.484 13
19 Luiz Razia Arden International 2:20.712 11
20. Rodolfo Gonzalez Caterham Racing 2:20.752 11
21. Nigel Melker Ocean Racing Technology 2:20.888 11
22. Daniel De Jong Rapax 2:20.921 13
23. Stephane Richelmi Trident Racing 2:21.070 11
24. Simon Trummer Arden International 2:21.790 13
25. Johnny Cecotto Barwa Addax Team 2:21.942 4
26. Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus 2:22.795 11

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com