Ellinas leads the way in GP3 Free Practice at Hockenheim

Round 5 of the GP3 Series got underway in Hockenheim as Free Practice was run in the early evening, making a change for the drivers who normally take to the track early on Friday. After the rain had bucketed down throughout the day, the track was declared wet for practice. Alice Powell was the first driver to venture onto the circuit as only a few drivers attempted tentative laps in early part of the session.

With a few drivers circulating on wets, most drivers waited patiently in the pits as the track was in the tricky state of not wet or dry. After 15 minutes, the slicks went on and the action began! Marussia Manor Racing’s Dmitry Suranovich was the first driver to set the pace, however it was short lived when practice was stopped due to a power failure. This caused a short delay while the drivers returned to the pits. 17 minutes, 56 seconds were left on the clock as the time was stopped but once the session was resumed, 15 minutes were left for the drivers to do battle! Mitch Evans was fastest at this point from William Buller, Suranovich, Marlon Stockinger and Alex Brundle.

Once the track became live, the times tumbled as positions at the top swapped every 30 seconds with purple sectors being set. Antonio Felix Da Costa went P1 with 10 minutes remaining until Ellinas went quicker. Patric Niederhauser had a brief spell on top until Ellinas reclaimed his position back. With several drivers spinning in the final moments, yellow flags were aplenty with lots of traffic for the drivers to contend with. As the checkered flag came out, Ellinas stayed P1, ahead of Vainio and Felix Da Costa until a late charge from David Fumanelli changed the order, as the Italian rose to P2.

The final ten finished as Ellinas, Fumanelli, Vainio, Felix Da Costa, Niederhauser, Daniel Abt, Evans, Conor Daly, Tamas Pal Kiss and Buller.

Qualifying takes place tomorrow morning (Saturday) at 09.45 CET.


Pos Driver Team Laptime Laps
1. Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing 1:32.838 12
2. David Fumanelli MW Arden 1:33.077 16
3. Aaro Vainio Lotus GP 1:33.078 10
4. Antonio Felix Da Costa Carlin 1:33.090 11
5. Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport 1:33.218 14
6. Daniel Abt Lotus GP 1:33.352 9
7. Mitch Evans MW Arden 1:33.490 16
8. Conor Daly Lotus GP 1:33.498 12
9. Tamas Pal Kiss Atech CRS GP 1:33.584 14
10. William Buller Carlin 1:33.690 14
11. Matias Laine MW Arden 1:33.707 10
12. Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 1:33.743 16
13. Lewis Williamson Status Grand Prix 1:33.906 12
14. Kevin Ceccon Ocean Racing Technology 1:33.930 14
15. Robert Visoiu Jenzer Motorsport 1:34.004 18
16. Dmitry Suranovich Marussia Manor Racing 1:34.012 17
17. Alex Brundle Carlin 1:34.032 15
18. Giovanni Venturini Trident Racing 1:34.102 13
19. Fabiano Machado Marussia Manor Racing 1:34.230 18
20. Vicky Piria Trident Racing 1:34.405 15
21. Alice Powell Status Grand Prix 1:34.465 16
22. Robert Cregan Ocean Racing Technology 1:35.358 15
23. Ethan Ringel Atech CRS GP 1:35.367 16
24. Carmen Jorda Ocean Racing Technology 1:41.164 14

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com