Defending champion Andretti leads opening Iowa IndyCar practice session

Marco Andretti topped the opening practice session for this weekend's Iowa Corn 250 IndyCar Series race at Iowa Speedway.

Andretti, who drivers for his father's team, won last year's race at the 7/8th mile oval, set the pace with a best lap of 184.832mph to finish up just ahead of Sarah Fisher Hartman's Josef Newgarden and Bryan Herta Autosport's Alex Tagliani. Ryan Briscoe (Penske) and Scott Dixon (Ganassi) completed the top five.

Up next is another practice session and then the heat races, which will set the grid for the race on Saturday.



Driver Team/Car Time Behind
1. Marco Andretti Andretti DW12-Chevy 17.4126s +0.0000s
2. Josef Newgarden Fisher DW12-Honda 17.4458s +0.0332s
3. Alex Tagliani Herta DW12-Honda 17.4743s +0.0617s
4. Ryan Briscoe Penske DW12-Chevy 17.4795s +0.0669s
5. Scott Dixon Ganassi DW12-Honda 17.5103s +0.0977s
6. James Hinchcliffe Andretti DW12-Chevy 17.5117s +0.0991s
7. Dario Franchitti Ganassi DW12-Honda 17.5203s +0.1077s
8. Helio Castroneves Penske DW12-Chevy 17.5330s +0.1204s
9. Will Power Penske DW12-Chevy 17.5350s +0.1224s
10. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti DW12-Chevy 17.6018s +0.1892s
11. Tony Kanaan KV DW12-Chevy 17.6426s +0.2300s
12. Mike Conway Foyt DW12-Honda 17.6509s +0.2383s
13. EJ Viso KV DW12-Chevy 17.6851s +0.2725s
14. JR Hildebrand Panther DW12-Chevy 17.6924s +0.2798s
15. James Jakes Coyne DW12-Honda 17.6985s +0.2859s
16. Ed Carpenter Carpenter DW12-Chevy 17.7053s +0.2927s
17. Graham Rahal Ganassi DW12-Honda 17.7348s +0.3222s
18. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt DW12-Honda 17.7958s +0.3832s
19. Oriol Servia Panther/DRR DW12-Chevy 17.8145s +0.4019s
20. Katherine Legge Dragon DW12-Chevy 17.8342s +0.4216s
21. Charlie Kimball Ganassi DW12-Honda 17.8782s +0.4656s
22. Justin Wilson Coyne DW12-Honda 17.9324s +0.5198s
23. Takuma Sato Rahal DW12-Honda 17.9722s +0.5596s
24. Rubens Barrichello KV DW12-Chevy 18.0808s +0.6682s
25. Simona de Silvestro HVM DW12-Lotus 18.7022s +1.2896s

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :