Mattias Ekstrom claims pole position at Valencia

Left to right: David Coulthard (4th), Filipe Albuquerque (2nd), Renger van der Zande (3rd) and poleman Mattias Ekstrom

For the second time this year, Mattias Ekström (Audi) will be starting from pole position. In qualifying for the ninth DTM season round, the Swede set the fastest time in the fourth qualifying heat: 1:30.608 minutes. On Sunday, Ekström will be starting from the best possible grid position for the 18th time in his DTM career.

Three drivers had a premiere in qualifying at Valencia: Filipe Albuquerque (Audi), Renger van der Zande (Mercedes-Benz) and David Coulthard (Mercedes-Benz) all made it into Q4 for the first time and qualified in second to fourth place. DTM points’ leader Martin Tomczyk (Audi) ended up eleventh in qualifying, opponent Spengler didn’t do any better than 13th place.


Pos Driver Team/Car Time Gap
1. Mattias Ekstrom Abt Audi 1m30.608s +0.000s
2. Filipe Albuquerque Rosberg Audi 1m31.021s +0.413s
3. Renger van der Zande Persson Mercedes 1m31.173s +0.565s
4. David Coulthard Mucke Mercedes 1m31.338s +0.730s
5. Mike Rockenfeller Abt Audi 1m30.202s Q3
6. Miguel Molina Abt Audi 1m30.212s Q3
7. Timo Scheider Abt Audi 1m30.234s Q3
8. Oliver Jarvis Abt Audi 1m30.240s Q3
9. Gary Paffett HWA Mercedes 1m30.297s Q3
10. Ralf Schumacher HWA Mercedes 1m30.304s Q3
11. Martin Tomczyk Phoenix Audi 1m30.554s Q3
12. Jamie Green HWA Mercedes 1m30.602s Q3
13. Bruno Spengler HWA Mercedes 1m30.621s Q3
14. Edoardo Mortara Rosberg Audi Q2
15. Maro Engel Mucke Mercedes 1m30.583s Q1
16. Christian Vietoris Persson Mercedes 1m30.587s Q1
17. Rahel Frey Phoenix Audi 1m30.712s Q1
18. Susie Stoddart Persson Mercedes 1m30.739s Q1

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :