Daytona testing Jan. 20-22 & NASCAR Preseason Thunder Fan Fest

  • Next up – Daytona testing Jan. 20-22 & NASCAR Preseason Thunder Fan Fest: Daytona 500 champions Jamie McMurray, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson and Dale Earnhardt Jr. are among the drivers that will appear at NASCAR Preseason Thunder Fan Fest at historic Daytona International Speedway on Thursday, Jan. 20 and Friday, Jan. 21. The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will take to the new asphalt at Daytona International Speedway in a three-day test session, known as NASCAR Preseason Thunder, Thursday, Jan. 20 through Saturday, Jan. 22.

    Tickets for NASCAR Preseason Thunder Fan Fest are $20 and available by calling 1-800-PITSHOP or online at 2011 Daytona 500 ticketholders and children 12 and under will receive free admission. Advanced reservations are available (limited to 250 people) for special autograph sessions to be held with participating 2010 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup drivers and Daytona 500 champions. Additional driver autograph sessions will be held on both days with wristbands available the day of the event.

    To request access to the special autograph sessions, race fans can call 1-800-PITSHOP or visit the Daytona International Speedway ticket office beginning on Saturday, Jan. 8 at 9 a.m. In addition to viewing the on-track activity from the Sprint FANZONE, fans can watch each day's testing at no cost from a section of the Oldfield Grandstands near Turn 4.Drivers currently scheduled to make appearances on Thursday, Jan. 20 beginning at 6 p.m. are Dale Earnhardt Jr., Brad Keselowski, David Ragan, Kurt Busch, Carl Edwards, Denny Hamlin, Kasey Kahne, Mark Martin, Martin Truex Jr. and Regan Smith.

    Scheduled to appear on Friday, Jan. 21, during the 5-7 p.m. session are Kevin Harvick, Clint Bowyer, David Reutimann, Casey Mears, Jeff Burton, Jimmie Johnson, Joey Logano, Kevin Conway, Kyle Busch, Paul Menard and Ryan Newman. In the 7-9 p.m. session, drivers scheduled to appear are AJ Allmendinger, Brian Vickers, Greg Biffle, Jamie McMurray, Jeff Gordon, Juan Pablo Montoya, Marcos Ambrose and Matt Kenseth.

    Lastly, race fans will be able to camp in the infield of Daytona International Speedway for free with their admission ticket during the three-day test inside Turns 3 and 4. Sites will be provided on a first-come, first-served basis. Gates to the infield will open Thursday, Jan. 20 at 8:00 a.m.

    Among the activities planned for both days include:
    " Interactive driver question and answer sessions on the main stage
    " Show cars, displays, music
    " Photo opportunity with the Harley J. Earl Daytona 500 trophy
    " Blood drive outside the Turn 4 tunnel

    Tickets for both the NASCAR Preseason Thunder Fan Fests and the Roar Before The Rolex 24 are available online at or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP.(DIS)

    TV Coverage: SPEED and are presenting 23 hours of live testing coverage from Daytona Jan. 20-22 as the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series engines roar back to life in the month of January for the first time in three years. John Roberts and Jeff Hammond host SPEED's on-air coverage from the studio above Victory Lane at Daytona. Steve Byrnes, Larry McReynolds and Darrell Waltrip will offer analysis throughout the practice sessions with reporting by Bob Dillner and Krista Voda. is presenting live streaming of all on-track activity with the exception of 3:00-5:00 pm/et Thursday, and will feature a rotation of on-air personalities. SPEED schedule for Daytona testing (all times Eastern and live unless otherwise indicated):

    Thursday, Jan. 20
    9 am – 12 pm (
    1 pm – 5 pm (
    5 pm – 7 pm (same-day delay) (SPEED)

    Friday, Jan. 21
    9 am – 12 pm (
    1 pm – 2 pm (SPEED)
    2 pm – 5 pm (

    Saturday, Jan. 22
    9 am – 12 pm (
    1 pm – 2 pm  (SPEED)
    2 pm – 5 pm  ( SPEED

  • NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Team Roster For Daytona International Speedway Test:
    Car#, Driver, Team
    #00-David Reutimann, MWR
    #1-Jamie McMurray, EGR
    #2-Brad Keselowski, Penske
    #4-Kasey Kahne, Red Bull
    #5-Mark Martin, Hendrick
    #6-David Ragan, Roush Fenway
    #9-Marcos Ambrose, RPM
    #11-Denny Hamlin, JGR
    #13-Casey Mears, Germain
    #14-Tony Stewart, Stewart-Haas
    #16-Greg Biffle, Roush Fenway
    #17-Matt Kenseth, Roush Fenway
    #18-Kyle Busch, JGR
    #20-Joey Logano, JGR
    #21-Trevor Bayne, Wood Brothers
    #22-Kurt Busch, Penske
    #24-Jeff Gordon, Hendrick
    #27-Paul Menard, RCR
    #29-Kevin Harvick, RCR
    #31-Jeff Burton, RCR
    #33-Clint Bowyer, RCR
    #36-Dave Blaney, Tommy Baldwin Racing
    #39-Ryan Newman, Stewart-Haas
    #42-Juan Pablo Montoya, EGR
    #43-AJ Allmendinger, RPM
    #46-J.J. Yeley, Whitney Racing
    #48-Jimmie Johnson, Hendrick
    #56-Martin Truex Jr., MWR
    #60-Todd Bodine, Germain
    #64-Larry Gunselman, Max Q Motorsports
    #66-Michael McDowell, HP Racing
    #77-Steve Wallace, RWR
    #78-Regan Smith, Furniture Row
    #83-Brian Vickers, Red Bull
    #88-Dale Earnhardt Jr., Hendrick
    #99-Carl Edwards, Roush Fenway
    Teams/Drivers not listed planning on attempting the Daytona 500 include: #09-Bill Elliott, #7-Robby Gordon, #47-Bobby Labonte, Front Row Motorsports & Michael Waltrip. List from NASCAR

  • Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :