McMurray’s crew wins Darlington pit crew award

Jamie McMurray’s over-the-wall crew won the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Saturday night’s (May 8) Showtime Southern 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup race at the historic Darlington Raceway.

The No. 1 crew, which became the 10th different Tissot winner of the season, edged out the competition in Darlington with seven quick pit stops. The performance helped McMurray post a second-place finish.

McMurray’s McDonald’s Chevrolet spent the least amount of time on pit road – 305.523 seconds – during the 367-lap, 500-mile Mother’s Day weekend race.

“We had a good car, but Bono (Kevin Manion, crew chief) called a really good race and our pit crew had a great night," said McMurray. “Qualifying first, getting to have that pit stall, it made a huge difference. We beat three or four cars out of the pits each time and most of the time we would come out in the lead."

McMurray’s over-the-wall crew consists of: Cory DeMarco (front-tire changer), Doug Riepe (front-tire carrier), Chris Taylor (rear-tire changer), Adam Mosher (rear-tire carrier), Tracy Duncan (jackman), Benjy Grubbs (gasman) and Eric Hoyle (catch can). The team’s pit crew coach is Chip Goode, and the crew chief is Kevin Manion.

The winning pit crew in each Sprint Cup race will earn $5,000 and a Tissot V8 Quartz Chronograph watch. The team with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule will receive a $105,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the over-the-wall crew members and driver.

Martin Truex Jr.’s No. 56 crew continues to lead the Tissot standings with two wins after eleven races. Nine teams are in second place with one win.

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.


2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners
Daytona, 2/14 Juan Pablo Montoya Team
Fontana, 2/21 Jeff Gordon Team
Las Vegas, 2/28 Martin Truex Jr. Team
Atlanta, 3/7 Martin Truex Jr. Team
Bristol, 3/21 Brad Keselowski Team
Martinsville, 3/29 Clint Bowyer Team
Phoenix, 4/10 Matt Kenseth Team
Texas, 4/19 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
Talladega 4/25 David Reutimann Team
Richmond, 5/1 Ryan Newman Team
Darlington, 5/8 Jamie McMurray Team

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :