RCR Crew Chief Reorganization

Richard Childress Racing continues to retool team leadership with its NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and NASCAR Nationwide Series teams.

Following this weekend’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway, Todd Berrier will take over the crew chief duties of the No. 31 Caterpillar team with driver Jeff Burton while Doug Randolph assumes Berrier’s duties on the No. 07 Jack Daniel’s team with driver Casey Mears. Starting this week at Memphis (Tenn.) Motorsports Park, Dan Deeringhoff will replace Randolph in his return to the No. 29 Holiday Inn team with drivers Burton, Clint Bowyer and Stephen Leicht in the NASCAR Nationwide Series.

Scott Miller, who has led the No. 31 team since 2005, will move fulltime to the director of competition position he was named to in September. Minimal changes will also be made among crew members for the No. 07 and No. 31 teams. The crew chief position for RCR’s development program will be named later.

“I said previously that RCR would continue to adjust our team lineups in order to have the right personnel in place and this is the next step in that process," said Richard Childress, president and CEO of Richard Childress Racing. “Todd, Doug and Dan are all proven winners so the goal of these moves is to put them in the best situations to continue that success. I’m confident that making these changes now will be a benefit to the teams for the rest of this season as well as in preparing for 2010."

Berrier’s RCR career began as a fabricator in 1994. The Kernersville, N.C., native has earned 19 victories as a crew chief in the Sprint Cup Series, Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series. He is one of a select few crew chiefs to post victories in all three series. He won the 2001 NASCAR Nationwide Series championship, the 2003 Brickyard 400 and the 2007 Daytona 500, all with driver Kevin Harvick.

Randolph began his stock car racing career in 1984 and has been a crew chief in either the Sprint Cup Series or Nationwide Series since 2000. The Morristown, Tenn., native had earned two Nationwide Series victories, in 2003 with driver Scott Riggs, before joining RCR in May 2009. He has two Nationwide Series victories this season – July 3 at Daytona International Speedway (Daytona Beach, Fla.) and September 26 at Dover (Del.) International Speedway – both with Bowyer behind the wheel. The No. 29 team is currently sixth in the 2009 owner point standings.

Deeringhoff is in his second stint at RCR, where he has been a crew chief since December 2005. His first tour of duty began in 2001 and culminated in 2003 as the car chief for the No. 21 team that earned the Nationwide Series’ owner championship with drivers Harvick and Johnny Sauter. The Walla Walla, Washington, native also led Bowyer and the No. 2 BB&T team to the 2008 NASCAR Nationwide Series championship. He began the 2009 season as the crew chief for the No. 29 Holiday Inn team before assuming similar duties with RCR’s driver development program in May.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com