Grubb named Wypall crew chief for California

Darian Grubb, crew chief for the No. 14 Stewart-Haas Racing Chevrolet driven by Tony Stewart, has been named the Wypall Wipers Crew Chief of the Race for Sunday's Pepsi 500 at Auto Club Speedway in California.

It's the second consecutive week for Grubb to win the award and fourth time this season.

After running up front most of Sunday's race, Stewart was caught speeding on pit road with fewer than 100 laps to go and lost a lap. A debris caution on lap 186 allowed Stewart to stay out, putting him back on the lead lap in 24th. Then, when the race leaders came in with 25 laps to go, Grubb chose to keep his driver out in an effort to gain track position.

Stewart went on to finish fifth.

"We had a good enough car to get back," said Stewart. "This team never quits. It never has and never will."

Grubb leads the season standings with his four wins. He is followed by Chad Knaus (crew chief for Hendrick Motorsports' Jimmie Johnson), Drew Blickensderfer (Roush Fenway Racing's Matt Kenseth) and Alan Gustafson (Hendrick's Mark Martin) with three wins apiece.

Bob Osborne, crew chief for Roush Fenway’s Carl Edwards, Todd Berrier, crew chief for Richard Childress Racing's Casey Mears and Fox/Speed analyst Jeff Hammond, along with representatives from the sponsor, serve as the panel for the challenge.

In addition to the $1,000 check, the winning crew chief will receive signage on his pit box the following week. The crew chief with the most weekly wins will be honored as the Wypall Wipers Crew Chief of the Year and will be presented a $20,000 check at the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :