Chevy clinches manufacturers title again

Tony Stewart's victory of the Price Chopper 400 at Kansas Speedway clinched the 2009 Manufacturers' Championship for Chevrolet in NASCAR's premier division. With seven races left on the 2009 Sprint Cup tour, Chevrolet has now collected its 33rd Manufacturers' crown, the most ever by any automobile manufacturer in the sport.

The Manufacturers' Cup has debuted in 1950. It is presented to the automobile manufacturer whose current models in NASCAR Sprint Cup competition earn the most points for a win (9 points), second (6 points), third (4 points), or fourth-best (3 points) finish. A manufacturer earns the points in relation to how the other manufacturers finish.

Five different Impala SS drivers have contributed to the 15 victories thus far this year to bring Chevrolet this honor. Team Chevy drivers who have posted wins during the season to date include Mark Martin (5), Jimmie Johnson (4), Tony Stewart (4), Jeff Gordon (1), and Brad Keselowski (1). Additionally, top finishes by Kevin Harvick, Clint Bowyer, Ryan Newman, and Juan Pablo Montoya have given Chevrolet the points required to claim this title.

This marks Team Chevy's seventh consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup Manufacturers' title for the Bowtie Brigade. The 2009 Manufacturers' Championship continues Chevrolet's dominance of North America's most popular racing series.

BRENT DEWAR, VICE PRESIDENT, CHEVROLET GLOBAL: "Chevrolet is extremely proud of our teams and drivers for bringing home the 2009 Manufacturers' Championship in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. This is the 33rd Manufacturers' title for Chevrolet and our seventh consecutive year as the leading nameplate in the sport.

"This award is exceptionally gratifying for everyone at Chevrolet and GM, especially in this challenging economic environment. We salute our Chevy teams, owners, and drivers for all their hard work and dedication in achieving this exceptional recognition".

"The level of the NASCAR Sprint Cup on-track competition is second to none. We are very proud of the 15 victories so far this year and the overall on-track success by our Impala SS drivers that put Team Chevy on top. Chevrolet is here to stay, and we look forward to using our award winning engines and vehicles to win races and championships for many years to come."

MARK KENT, MANAGER, GM RACING: "Winning the 2009 Manufacturers' Championship in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series is a remarkable achievement for GM Racing and our outstanding Chevrolet teams and drivers.

"The competition this season has been as intense as any time in the history of the sport. Many men and women have spent countless hours maximizing the performance of every aspect of the Impala SS race car. Their efforts have paid off with this special honor, and will continue to net excellent results as we move toward the end of the season. With seven races yet to go in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, we are working hard to capture the Driver and Owner championships.

"It is no secret these are stressful and turbulent times at General Motors. To be able to celebrate the success of a goal met – winning our 33rd overall and seventh consecutive Manufacturers' title – is a reward well deserved and ranks as one of the most special in the racing history of GM and Chevrolet.

"Congratulations to all of our Team Chevy organizations, drivers, crews, GM Racing and to everyone at General Motors who contributed to this championship effort for this much deserved accomplishment."

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :