Korea and Canada join 2010 F1 calendar

(GMM) Korea and Canada are featured on the first officially published formula one calendar for the 2010 season.

At Monday's meeting in Paris of the World Motor Sport Council, the 26-member body approved 19 race dates for next season, beginning with a season opener in Bahrain rather than Melbourne as per usual.

Canada, missing from the 2009 schedule following a commercial dispute with Bernie Ecclestone, is listed for 13 June next year, alongside an asterisk.

In a FIA statement, it is explained that the Montreal return is "subject to the completion of contract negotiations with Formula One Management".

As in 2009, there is a three-weekend summer break in August, and in October South Korea is scheduled to host its inaugural grand prix.

Brazil, not Abu Dhabi as will be the case this November, will conclude the 2010 season.

Also on Monday, the Council agreed that engine performance may be equalized for the 2010 season but only by "reducing the performance of the more powerful engines", and only if "the teams wish".

"No engine upgrades will be allowed," the FIA statement confirmed.

2010 FIA Formula One World Championship calendar:

Venue Date
Bahrain March 14
Australia March 28
Malaysia April 4
China April 18
Spain May 9
Monaco May 23
Turkey May 30
Canada* June 13
Europe (Valencia) June 27
Great Britain July 11
Germany July 25
Hungary August 1
Belgium August 29
Italy September 12
Singapore September 26
Japan October 3
Korea October 17
Abu Dhabi October 31
Brazil November 14

*Subject to the completion of contract negotiations with Formula One Management. If these are not completed then the Turkish Grand Prix will be moved to 6 June.

Note: The race in Australia will start at 1700 local time, in Malaysia at 1600 local time, in Singapore at 2000 local time, and in Abu Dhabi at 1700 local time.

Leave a Reply