Seven ALMS teams commit to 24 Hours of LeMans

Seven teams from the American Le Mans Series are among the first to confirm their participation in this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans. Audi Sport North America (as well as Audi Sport Team Joest), Corvette Racing, Risi Competizione and Flying Lizard Motorsports each will return to compete in the world’s most famous and demanding auto race.

American Le Mans Series teams have left their mark on the 24 Hours since the Series’ inception in 1999. Teams from the American Le Mans Series have taken eight overall victories in addition to 24 class championships. In 2008, Audi (overall) and Risi Competizione (GT2) scored triumphs with Series driver David Brabham winning with Aston Martin Racing in GT1.

Other American Le Mans Series highlights at Le Mans include Champion Racing’s overall victory in 2005, the first for an American team in nearly 40 years. Tom Kristensen also won for the seventh time that year to break Jacky Ickx’s record for all-time Le Mans triumphs.

In 2004, Clint Field became the youngest class winner at Le Mans as he topped the LMP675 victory podium at the age of 20 with Intersport Racing.

The deadline for entries to Le Mans this year is January 21. The full field of 55 cars will be announced soon after that date.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :