Jay Howard beats other top USA drivers

IndyCar Series driver Jay Howard won the third annual PRI All-Stars Karting Classic Dec. 11 in Orlando, Fla.

Howard, the 2006 Firestone Indy Lights champion who competed in five IndyCar Series events as a rookie in 2008, took the checkers with a 3.203-second advantage after 40 laps on the seven-turn, .25-mile course at the Orange County Convention Center.

“The race wasn’t easy by any means, but we were unchallenged the whole time," Howard said. “I got in the lead and led the whole way. There are a lot of top drivers from different series there, so it’s nice to kind of make a point that I think I’m good enough to get a ride (in the IndyCar Series in 2009)."

Eight other IndyCar Series drivers competed in the Masters Division event, including Buddy Rice (9th), Alex Tagliani (10th), Dan Wheldon (13th), Ryan Hunter-Reay (15th), Ed Carpenter (23rd), Will Power (24th), Townsend Bell (25th) and Vitor Meira (26th).

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com