Four from ALMS make AARWBA selection

Four of the American Le Mans Series’ best received postseason honors from the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association. Motorsports journalists from around the country selected Patr¢n Highcroft Racing’s David Brabham and Scott Sharp along with Jorg Bergmeister and Wolf Henzler from Flying Lizard Motorsports as AARWBA first-team All-American Auto Racing Team members.

Following a historic 10th Series season, both pairings are invited to celebrate their efforts at AARWBA’s annual banquet on January 10 in Ontario, Calif., where they will receive their respective “Horsepower" awards – Brabham/Sharp representing Road Racing competitors and Bergmeister/Henzler in the At-Large category.

Capping a season that brought a GT2 championship, Bergmeister/Henzler walked away from the American Le Mans Series with four class victories in 11 starts. They won at Sebring, Salt Lake City, Lime Rock and Detroit in their Porsche 911 GT3 RSR.

Bergmeister also was a first-team selection in 2005, his first season as an American Le Mans Series champion. The group will honor Henzler for the first time.

Brabham and Sharp told a similar story in their Acura ARX-01b (LMP2). Acura’s leading driver pairing also won four times in 11 starts including an overall victory at Lime Rock Park, the first for the manufacturer. They also claimed P2 victories at Long Beach, Road America and Mosport for a runner-up finish in the class championship.

This is Brabham’s first time as a first-team honoree following second-team and honorable mention selections earlier in his career. Sharp is a first-team member for the third time, having been selected in the Road Racing category in 1991 and 1994.

Audi Sport North America’s Lucas Luhr and Marco Werner, and Penske Racing’s Timo Bernhard and Romain Dumas were second-team honorees in the Road Racing category. Corvette Racing’s Jan Magnussen and Johnny O’Connell received honorable mentions.

History of AARWBA All-America Team members
Jörg Bergmeister, 1st Team At-Large 2005, 2008; 1st Team Road Racing 2006
Wolf Henzler, 1st Team At-Large 2008

David Brabham, 1st Team Road Racing 2008; 2nd Team Road Racing 1998; Honorable Mention Road Racing 1999
Scott Sharp, 1st Team Road Racing 1991, 1994, 2008; 2nd Team Road Racing 1992; Honorable Mention Open Wheel 2001

Timo Bernhard, 2nd Team Road Racing 2007, 2008
Romain Dumas, 2nd Team Road Racing 2007, 2008

Lucas Luhr, 2nd Team Road Racing 2008
Marco Werner, 2nd Team Road Racing 2008; Honorable Mention Road Racing 2003, 2004

Jan Magnussen, Honorable Mention Road Racing 2008
Johnny O'Connell, 2nd Team Road Racing 2005; Honorable Mention Road Racing 1994, 2008

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :