GAINSCO, Shank, SpeedSource, Banner File for Rolex 24

The 2007 Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 Daytona Prototype champions and the 2008 GT champions and class winners of the Rolex 24 At Daytona were among the eight entries received at Grand-Am headquarters for the Jan. 24-25 running of the sports car classic.

GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing entered the No. 99 Pontiac Riley for 2007 Daytona Prototype champs Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty. They will be joined by 1996 Champ Car titlist Jimmy Vasser.

Michael Shank Racing will be looking to continue its Rolex Series winning streak by entering a pair of Ford Rileys. New Jersey winners Mark Patterson and Oswaldo Negri will be joined by Ryan Hunter-Reay in the No. 60, while John Pew – winner of the 2008 finale at Miller Motorsports Park – will co-drive the No. 6 with Michael Valiante and AJ Allmendinger. Shank captured both front-row starting positions for the 2008 Rolex 24, with Negri on the pole and Allmendinger on the outside.

SpeedSource entered a pair of Mazda RX-8s, including the 2008 GT class-winning No. 70 Castrol Syntec of Sylvain Tremblay, Nick Ham and David Haskell. The team also entered the FXDD-sponsored No. 69 for Emil Assentato, Jeff Segal, Nick Longhi and Lonnie Pechnik.

Banner Racing, the 2008 GT champion, entered the No. 07 Pontiac GXP.R for defending co-champions Paul Edwards and Kelly Collins. They will be joined at the Rolex 24 by international star Jan Magnussen.

Other GT entries were received for PR1 Motorsports and Matt Connolly Motorsports. Mike Forest, Thomas Merrill, Patrick Barrett, Jeff Westphal and Al Salvo will co-drive the No. 32 PR1 Motorsports Pontiac GXP.R. Jim Stout and Russ Oasis are entered to drive Connolly's No. 21 Pontiac GTO.R.

The eight entries boost the total to 13 for the 47th Rolex 24 and January 3-5 Daytona Test Days, the Roar Before the Rolex 24. Last week, Brumos Racing and Krohn Racing each entered two-car teams for the Rolex 24, while SunTrust Racing added the fifth Daytona Prototype. In addition, GT entries were received for JLowe Motorsports and Gotham Competition.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :