ALMS names top-5 finalists

The top five nominees for this year’s American Le Mans Series “From the Fans" award are in. From now until Sunday, October 5 – the end of Petit Le Mans weekend – voting will determine this year’s winner. The award will be presented at the season-ending banquet in Monterey, Calif., the day after the Monterey Sports Car Championships at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

This year’s finalists are:

• Acura: The second-year manufacturer has won five times in LMP2 this season with three overall victories. It currently leads the P2 manufacturer's championship and also announced an LMP1 program for 2009.
• Duncan Dayton: The owner of Patr¢n Highcroft Racing, a four-time winner this year in LMP2 for Acura. Drivers David Brabham and Scott Sharp sit second in the class drivers championship with Patr¢n Highcroft also second in the team standings.
• Paul Drayson: The former British Government Minister and member of the House of Lords who has taken a leave of absence from his post to fulfill his dream of competing at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. He is co-principal of Drayson-Barwell, which is campaigning a cellulosic E85-powered Aston Martin Vantage V8 in GT2 with Jonny Cocker.
• Doug Fehan: Corvette Racing’s program manager who has been with the team since its inception in 1999. He has helped lead Corvette Racing to eight consecutive GT1 championships in the American Le Mans Series and five class wins at Le Mans.
• Robertson Racing: Husband-wife team of David and Andrea Robertson entered their first full season in GT2 with a Doran-Ford GT-R. Michigan duo is joined by David Murry.

Voting also remains open for the Series’ Most Popular Driver award.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :